Skip to content

Update from Yesterday…………the recovery of a twice wet blackberry

July 1, 2010

It worked! My phone works. I am going to give you the steps I took just in case you find yourself in the same predicament of dropping your phone in liquid – twice….

In case you missed yesterday’s post – I dropped my phone in my soda – and then in an attempt to get a picture of what a stupid thing I had done, I dropped my phone in diet Coke a second time. Yes, that was in fact more stupider.

In order to try recovering my poor, poor phone, I immediately pulled it out of the cup and dried as much of the phone off as I could.

Then I took off the back and took out the battery.

Then I paper toweled every piece I could.

Then I blew into the keyboard portion and dried the back off. You’d be amazed how much soda came out this way.

Then I cursed at myself for being a little dumb.

I put the battery in and tried to turn it on – no luck. And now I understand that this was exactly what n.o.t. to do until you are pretty comfortable your phone is as dry as it can be.

Then I put the pieces of my phone in uncooked rice – this is supposed to help pull out the moisture. I left them to set for several hours.

Then I thought about praying but realized there is an oil spill, starvation, and much bigger things on his radar screen – I just might not make the top one million on the list of things that require God’s immediate attention.

So, I did the Scarecrow Dance from Wizard of Oz – you know the one – “If I Only Had A Brain”.

I tried to turn it on again. And some of it worked. The rolling ball would not work and the “N” key read as a “J” key and the “F” key read as a “C” key – but this is progress and I am not a super duper speller anyway – people just might not notice.

I cursed myself again.

Then (because my son had a flash of brilliance) I used the Dust Off can of air that you can use to clean your keyboard and blew air through every crevice on the phone I could find.

After that, I left the phone unassembled on the counter under a light over night.

Then in the morning I reassembled everything, took a deep breath, and waited. And it worked!

And then I pretty much repeated the whole process over again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 1:10 pm

    LOL, Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

