Skip to content

Diet Coke and Cell Phones Don’t Mix…………..

June 30, 2010

Apparently. Wanna know how I know? That’s right – after lecture upon lecture of telling my children how not to treat their cell phones – after speech upon speech about the dangers of liquids and cell phones – after insisting that they put their phones in plastic bags anytime they are going to hold their phones and even breathe near it, I decided to carry my cell phone like this…..

Oh wait, I tried to recreate the visual for you (because that went so well on the first go round) and guess what happened. You got it. My phone fell into my soda again. Dammit and yes, I am apparently a complete moron – either that or I just love you so much and I wanted to protect you from making the same mistake I did that I was willing to risk life and cell for you. Let’s just go with that. Smooches.

Obviously there is not a picture because I had to put down the camera to rescue my beloved phone from my soda (again) and so I will just have to explain what happened. I drink a lot of soda – that is a problem to address for another day – but I like to drink it out of  plastic cup – so yes, I am an idiot and a little bit of a redneck. Great combination right. Hubby is a lucky, lucky man.

So anysoda, when I move from the kitchen to my office I like to make just one trip. I usually put my blackberry over the top of my soda and very carefully carry it the 4 and a half feet to my office. And it has worked well almost every time. But if you own a hand held electronic device you probably know that it just takes once.

And yesterday was that once – or at least it was the first once. My phone dropped in my soda for the first time. We just all signed up for a new plan when we returned from India – so yep, it is my new phone – and, go ahead ask me if I got insurance. Why would I do that when I am so careful with my phone? I am a professional cell phone protector – I have given speeches on protecting phones from the dreaded wetness and I have trained small children in the ways of cell phone safety. I don’t need insurance – do I? argh. Maybe. But that did not stop me from n.o.t. getting the insurance plan – don’t have it.

But here is the good news. I went online and looked for suggestions on Blackberry Emergency Room procedures. Several people suggested soaking the phone in a bowl of uncooked rice (please be sure to use uncooked rice lest you need to write your own blog post) for several hours. I did that and it was certainly working better but not perfectly. My little Bear is a smart little Bear and around the corner he came with a Dust Off Can – you know that ridiculous can of air with a long thin straw that they sell you so that you can clean the keyboard on your computer? Well we blew the heck out of the phone and now it is working. Oh wait, it was working.

If you need to reach me over the next few hours, please email. My phone is soaking in rice again. 😦  The good news for you is that I am retesting the rice theory  – I am nothing if not thorough – I will report back to you if it works (again).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 10:27 am

    Last September we went to Hampton beach in NH to see really huge waves from an off shore storm. We thought we were safe walking up by the seawall until a rogue wave came in and splashed us. Wet clothes? No problem. Husband’s wet blackberry in a holder- big problem. We went to the car, I took it apart and let it sit in the sun in the car, then we went home and did the phone in the bag of rice, two days later, it worked. The sensor inside the phone did not change color, so he is all good to go, a year later, still no problems.
    I knew this, b/c of stuff I had read about the Iphone which I own and I am always putting it in a plastic bag when it rains. Water will nil your warranty, and I think your soda will fall into that category.

  2. June 30, 2010 5:29 pm

    Try drying it out some with your hair dryer. Sometimes that will help.

  3. June 30, 2010 12:28 pm

    Hugs.

  4. Eric Lee permalink
    June 30, 2010 7:14 am

    You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, I�ve spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

Leave a Reply

