Skip to content

Raksha Bandhan………..

August 5, 2009

Today is the Indian holiday called Raksha Bandhan. It is a festival that is celebrated between brothers and sisters. Raksha means “protect”  and Bandhan means “bond”. The people who help us around the house got the day off and several markets are closed. It’s a big deal.

This is one more thing that is different about India and America. The family bonding. It is incredible. I am not suggesting that Americans don’t love their family – so please don’t think I am – but Indian families are simply much more intertwined in general. Family seems even more precious here.

Sisters visit their brothers and may make them their favorite dish or give them presents. Brothers promise to protect their sisters from hardships and will also give gifts. Sisters and brothers will participate in a puja (blessing ceremony) and sisters will tie a rakhi (holy thread) on the wrist of their brother.

It all sounds so lovely and makes me miss my family so much.

Bear, however, might be willing to move to India and temporarily separate from family, friends, and all that he loves in America. But he is not exactly embracing this day of loving and respecting his sisters. Especially when Angel mentioned that she thought Bear should get her drinks wait on her hand and foot all day long. Alas, some things are truly lost in translation.

I will say that I have no doubt though that he will always protect both of his sisters – no matter how crazy they might make him.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2012 4:51 pm

    I love Raksha Bandhan!

  2. August 11, 2009 7:29 am

    Popped over from Naomi’s blog and must say I am impressed…..I think I came here sometime back after reading abt your blog in some newspaper article…..but lost track of it….

    I loved this post on Rakshabandhan…..esp doing one yesterday on my daughter’s blog- http://reveda.blogspot.com/

    Take care……

    Alok

  3. August 5, 2009 10:55 pm

    It is truly a cool holiday/tradition … was touched all day long seeing different examples of it … most notable our driver and the pride he shared with Tony after he took some time off to spend with his sister. Very cool.

    • parul permalink
      July 21, 2011 10:06 am

      dimag kam karta hai

      • July 26, 2011 11:11 am

        this mean “your brain is working” for my non-hindi speakers….

  4. August 5, 2009 7:37 am

    I live to protect both of my sisters. I don’t consider it my responsibility, I consider it my privilege.

Leave a Reply

