Skip to content

Kopi Luwak……

August 4, 2009

Kopi Luwak is the most expensive coffee in the world – to the tune of about $25 a cup. It might surprise you why.

This is an Asian Palm Civet….

civet

He is cute in a “rodent who eats coffee berries” sort of way. Apparently, he will eat these coffee berries…

coffee beans

So the civet eats the coffee berries and does this to them…..

coffee poop

Are you still here? Yes, that is poop – civet poop filled with coffee beans. This is not cute – not even in a “rodent who eats coffee berries” sort of way. And guess what this guy gets to do? He gets to pick up the poop, pick out the beans, and process them so that someone can pay $25 for a cup of civet poop coffee. Or $100 per pound for coffee beans. Pick your poison.

I don’t know yet what I want to be when I grow up, but I am quite sure it’s not this.

There are a lot of things to complain about in this world, so I won’t spend (much) time explaining why this is outrageous. This guy has to pick coffee beans out of civet poop so that this ridiculously expensive coffee can be made and then enjoyed. I am sure he is not the one getting rich on this scheme.

Most of the time you can get a cup of this coffee at the Taj hotel in Delhi. How do I know that? A friend of mine had a birthday today and wanted to celebrate by having a cup of this coffee. I have never even tried coffee, so you can imagine my hesitation on starting out with a cup of this stuff. Unfortunately for her and thank god for me – they were out of Kopi Luwak. I’ll let you know if we go back another time to try it. 😎

(The pictures are all from Wikipedia – thanks Wiki)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. pam permalink
    August 6, 2009 10:20 am

    i really don’t know what to say… coffee anyone

  2. August 4, 2009 11:43 pm

    Tina – Dirty jobs would be a great place for this! 😎

    Debbie – I quite agree

    Jamie – do you have someone in particular in mind? hee hee

    Elaine – I heard it was in Bucket List – I need to see that movie

    Girlsmom – there are a number of reasons to avoid the expensive stuff 😉

    Loco – oh no – smoking? ick – I have heard really gross stories about what happens to tobacco too – I’ll spare you the details. How have you been? I’m going to catch up on your blog this week.

    Donna – gives a whole new meaning to “no coffee needed” huh?

    Baba – I have heard it is a good movie – need to go to the market and see if I can find it

    Swati – your poor mother!!!

  3. Swati permalink
    August 4, 2009 1:31 pm

    I have tasted this coffee (it is not as eww!! as it sounds). I have tasted it in Karnataka (India), where it is called (Kari-Bek).
    I liked this coffee, it was light roast and not at all bitter. After drinking it, we (My mom and me) got to know where it actually came from. Imagine the look of horror on my vegetarian Mom’s face. She then proceeded to rinse her mouth with Listerine for at least 20 times 🙂

  4. August 4, 2009 11:57 am

    Actually this was mentioned in the movie “The Bucket List” and it was hilarious! If you haven’t seen it I do recommend it.

  5. August 4, 2009 11:39 am

    Yeah – no thanks! lol
    Glad you made it back safely 🙂

  6. August 4, 2009 10:54 am

    Hey Reason2 (-;
    I’m with you…I’ll stick to my Starbuck’s and when I really want to splurge I might go Jamaican blue mountain (the only coffee that doesn’t need cream and sugar to my taste buds) You never had coffee? It’s a terrible habit. Stay Away! It should be easier now (-: If I found out North Carolina rodents crapped out tobacco I’d probably be able to quit smoking. I wonder if some Jamaican rodents in the blue mountains of…I don’t even wanna finish that thought

  7. Girlsmom permalink
    August 4, 2009 10:45 am

    I have heard about this before. As a coffee lover I will just avoid the “really expensive” stuff.

  8. Elaine permalink
    August 4, 2009 10:07 am

    I heard about this coffee in a movie and thought it was just a cleverly written piece of dialogue. Now I know where the joke came from. Very informative! 🙂

  9. August 4, 2009 9:18 am

    ok, that’s quite an interesting tidbit. I know several teenagers that can be volunteered to retrieve the beans, when they need some attitude readjustment. Then let that gentleman above get a paid vacation. It was great having you home, but I really love your India blogs.

  10. Debbie Lyman permalink
    August 4, 2009 9:05 am

    Not the job for me, thank you very much!! 🙂

  11. Tina permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:39 am

    Nice piece of info… Had never heard about this type of coffee ..
    Wow this could contend for the Dirty Jobs TV prog on discovery channel…

Leave a Reply

