Skip to content

A Change of Scenery………..

August 6, 2009

If you are new to this blog, please let me give you a little background. (If you have been following along for awhile, please feel free to skip on down to the 4th paragraph.)

Last August my husband asked me if I was willing to move our family from the Eastern United States to India. He said it with a straight face, so I figured I better at least find out where India is. What I discovered is that it is really far away from home. After throwing up, I said yes. He left in September, which was just too soon for me. So the kids and I followed in late January. We were in Delhi for 4 months and then back home for 2 months this summer. We just returned to Delhi this week.

When we lived here before, we lived in a flat. A small flat. A very small flat. Did I mention that it wasn’t very big? That was the second hardest part of moving here – the first was, of course, leaving behind the people we care most about. We went from a house on a cul-de-sac that had more than one level with a backyard full of neighborhood amenities – like a pool, playground, basketball court, and tennis court (oh yeah and grass) – to the middle floor of a house with absolutely no outside space. None. It was claustrophobic. We didn’t have much living space either. Like I said, it was claustrophobic. People lived above us and people lived below us. We felt squished. Have I mentioned how small it felt? Maybe I should really explain that better.

Now, I am not saying that we could not have lived in that small apartment for another year. We absolutely could have. But thankfully, we don’t have to. Number One Hubby found us a house. We are still close to the school and are actually closer to some of our new friends. Bonus. Bonus. We have a rooftop terrace filled with lovely potted plants. And a patio. With a family of stray cats who comes to visit eat the food I put out. There is a park across the street. And no one lives above us or below us. We have our own little space that is just ours. It is just fabulous.

Now we have room to invite friends over. Room to sit outside. Room to have one child study and one child watch t.v. – at the same time – without interrupting each other. Room to have one child read before she goes to bed and room for the other child to turn the lights out early.

This change of scenery is nice and we are really appreciating and enjoying our new space!

In celebration of our change of scenery – I changed the scenery on my blog too. You Like???

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2009 9:56 pm

    I like your virtual new digs, dear friend. And I am glad that your like your actual new digs.

  2. Tottsmom permalink
    August 7, 2009 5:55 pm

    Glad that you have new digs in Delhi. I just got back from napa to a flood of e mails and your blog so I’ll be popping back in now and again. The new look took me by suprise, and it will take some time getting used to it, but I’m sure I’ll come around eventually. Maybe after a crack open one of those bottles I got in Napa.

  3. Tina permalink
    August 7, 2009 2:33 am

    Hi,

    Lurker to ur posts … Nice to note the change of scenary 🙂
    This is nice…

    ~Tina

  4. August 6, 2009 10:30 pm

    I love the new look, and I’m so happy for you guys! Space is very, very important. Number One Hubby done good!!!!

  5. August 6, 2009 10:22 pm

    I’m a fiend for change. Love the look of the new blog … and excited about your new place. Kudos to Number One Hubby!!! When are you having me over for wine? (err, I mean coffee as it’s too early to be thinking about wine already)

  6. August 6, 2009 5:27 pm

    I’m looking forward to some scenery change around here – not coming soon enough.

    We’d love to see some pics of your new home – love the new change here, too!

  7. August 6, 2009 12:36 pm

    Congratulations!

  8. August 6, 2009 11:49 am

    I am so happy for you! Sounds so much nicer. It will be great to have friends over.

  9. pam permalink
    August 6, 2009 10:22 am

    change is nice 🙂

  10. August 6, 2009 7:38 am

    Congratulations on the expanded living space! That should make it much easier for all of you.

    And I’m diggin’ the new look, too! Very classy.

  11. August 6, 2009 6:42 am

    Can’t wait to see the new place. Welcome back to Delhi. KO

Leave a Reply

