Skip to content

TWeNTy-FiVe DaYs and CouNTiNG….

January 1, 2009

Yikes, that’s right. Twenty-five days and counting. My furry children (minus Queso who has found a wonderful temporary home) leave on Sunday for India. It’s a little weird that my furry children will get to see India before my non-furry children, but so it goes.

We saw Slum-dog Millionaire this week. It has a very creative story-line but it is definitely not a advertisement for tourism, much less for taking up residence, in India. But it did pique my sight-seeing interest. It’s really not that different than any story about any child surviving in a slum would be. There are some parts that are very hard to watch. But, we have our own neglects in the United States – India appears to be no different. And because there are (a lot) more people, there are (a lot) more poor people.

I have also read Beneath a Marble Sky by John Shors, which is an amazing tale about the era in which the Taj Mahal was built. It’s a magically written historical fiction that could paint a picture of the Taj Mahal and its history that even a blind man could imagine and see. Even if you are not moving to India, you can appreciate the intricate relationships of families and parents and siblings. It is a love story of action and impatience and imagination – it is the love story not just of a husband and his wife, but of a father and a daughter, a sister and her brothers, a princess and her best friend.

My book club was fortunate enough to be able to talk with John Shors. He was so gracious with his time and insights and he shared with us that this book took five years to write. You can tell. There is not one single moment in it that lets you drift away from the plot. There are graphic instances that are dealt with precisely – no violence for violence’s sake. It’s fabulous! If you have time, read it.

So, anytaj, we spent some time with friends this week who will probably not see for quite some time. It was great and Monday begins the great paperwork battle of my life. Coordinating utilities, medical info, and school records-  verifying our vaccines are, in fact, all done (please God, let them be done), – packing, unpacking, and repacking – and who knows what else. There is a lot to do with only twenty-five days and counting – backwards to the 26th. Yikes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 9:10 pm

    Loco – you are helping me get more excited about the transition – someone asked me today if there is a Costco there – after the Diet Dr. Pepper came flying out of my nose along w/a belly laugh, I thought – wow, we Americans do think the world is all just like it is here. Hmmm.

    Grace – yeah, I know, there are some very exciting parts. We are getting ready and that is a nice distraction – and I kind of (really) hate flying, except on my broom – but once the packing and flying are done we are in store for a great adventure.

    Lola – Slum Dog was very creative – but don’t take that gorgeous son of yours to see it until you have seen it. There are some graphic/violent scenes that might be hard for (you and) him to see.

  2. January 2, 2009 6:18 pm

    I can’t even imagine! I’m dying to see Slum Dog, though.

  3. January 2, 2009 5:08 pm

    Yikes. Although I’ll admit, I’m sort of jealous of the adventure on which you’re about to embark.

    And I dig your new digs.

  4. Locohama permalink
    January 2, 2009 12:57 pm

    Unlike Badass I don’t have to imagine the moving part, but with your furry and fur-free kids as well…that takes a bit of imagining on my part…
    And even though I’ve been there (not India, u know what I mean) and done that, I really can’t think of anything useful to say pertaining to preparation except things I’m sure you’re aware of like: learn how to let go…you are going to miss a lot of things in India. Don’t sweat them. Pick up new things. Fill in those holes with things from your new life. It won’t be easy, but it’ll be easier than going crazy over Junior’s Cheesecake or Ray’s Pizza, like I almost did. (-:

    Loco

  5. January 2, 2009 10:00 am

    badass – it’s crazy!

  6. January 2, 2009 6:21 am

    I can only imagine all the effort that moving halfway across the world would entail… Good luck!

Leave a comment