Skip to content

How we spend our dash………..

October 28, 2011

This summer I went to a funeral and I heard this great story about living between the dates. The speaker talked about the beginning and end of our lives as indicated by the dates we enter and leave this world. Then she focused on what was really important – how we spend the dash in between those dates.

I was inspired and ready for change – I beckoned it. “Let me focus on what’s important, and forget all that other nonsense,” I begged.

My step was lighter, the sun was brighter, and the wind was not as chilling. I recommitted myself to finally writing that book and appreciating everything about my family. To smile more and frown less. Heck, in that moment I could have even convinced myself that I was capable of climbing Mt. Everest or running a marathon. Of course, I have no desire to do either of those things, so I didn’t bother, but you get the point. I was briefly invincible.

Then, as I was driving away from the church, a guy too quickly pulled out in front me. I dropped my dash and got frustrated. He was talking on the phone and smoking and I mumbled something ugly about his need to put everything down and pay attention.

As I type this, I realize maybe that was just another reminder – to stop and pay attention. To see distraction in action and understand its potential for disaster.

But I cannot help it – I slip – a lot. I get frustrated and hurt and distracted every day. I get so busy so clearing seeing what other people should be doing that I forget to focus on myself and what I could be doing.

There are hard cold reminders every where that life is short. Our time is limited. There is a ton to be grateful for without looking very far. And yet, I stumble on the negative. Not always. I am grateful. I do adore my family. I am writing more. But, dang it, I slip way too easily.

I really am not sure what the point of this post is today – another than to serve as an out loud promise to myself to hold on tight to that dash and make the most of it. Maybe you will join me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    October 30, 2011 3:21 pm

    I’ve got the book – The Dash – LOVE IT! … such great reminders about what is REALLY important. If your readers are interested, they can check it out here: http://www.thedashmovie.com/ – enjoy your dash, my friend! 🙂

  2. Adele Little Caemmerer permalink
    October 29, 2011 5:05 am

    Very inspiring. Connie J told me about this today. Glad I read it. I’m in!

  3. Rajni permalink
    October 29, 2011 2:41 am

    😎 !!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

