Skip to content

Fleeting…………….

October 25, 2010

A friend of mine in Delhi died this week – unexpectedly in her sleep. She is unfortunately the second person I know this week who died – young – unexpectedly in her sleep. Both women left behind husbands and children and family and friends who are having a hard time believing that their loved ones are really gone.

Their deaths are a big reminder that our time here on earth is fleeting and that we better pay attention to how we spend it. India taught me that but I have been slowly letting myself forget it. Yes, shame on me.

Repatriation (returning home after living abroad) is an interesting experience. A lot stays the same and a lot changes. And finding out how you fit back into all of it is as wonderful as it is challenging.

Lately, I have been a little too caught up in some things that really don’t matter in the big ole grand scheme of things.They certainly aren’t things I would choose to spend my last bit of energy in life being consumed with. And, I know we all do it, get caught up in things, but still…..

One of the ladies who died has been getting a lot of posts on Facebook. One of her friends wrote this….

“Never take your friends for granted.  Hold your friends close to your heart cause you might wake up one day and realize that you have lost a diamond while you were too busy collecting stones.”

It is a lovely reminder to not take anything for granted………..especially friends……….especially life.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 11:31 pm

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your friends, please accept my condolences.

    Many of us tend to take the most important things in life for granted, while putting more time into the things that really aren’t.

    • October 27, 2010 2:36 pm

      Indeed we do. Mary’s husband said the best way to honor her memory was to try to make the world a better place – I thought that was lovely and a very worthy goal for all of us! 😎

  2. Debbie Lyman permalink
    October 26, 2010 11:09 am

    Thanks for the reminder of something we so often forget… Thinking of you.

  3. October 26, 2010 10:15 am

    Precious message we tend to forget so easily sometimes. Thanks for reminding me again.

  4. October 25, 2010 6:40 pm

    Hey Jennifer

    I just sent you an email. I hope all is well. Miss you!

  5. October 25, 2010 6:30 pm

    Can you email me and let me know who died? I have been dealing with my parents since I arrived home and did not know about this. It is taking me awhile to get back into the seing of things. Jennifer

Leave a Reply

