Skip to content

Putting it all on the line…………

October 6, 2009

On our recent trip to Mumbai, we managed a quick tour of the city. This was by far my favorite stop. The laundry district….

DSC02168

In this area, thousands of garments are washed every day. It was an amazing array of colors amidst a very gray and drab backdrop.

DSC02179

India is such a land of dichotomies – really, call centers are changing the way America’s operates (and the world for that matter) and yet, here is laundry being done the old fashioned way. And even though I can imagine a million ways to do it better – this does work.

DSC02166

DSC02172

DSC02173

DSC02171

I could have really stayed here all day and watched this process unfold – but, alas, I had a battle of the bands competition to get to.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 8:49 am

    Very interesting! I wonder what I’d have to barter with to get them to do my laundry.

  2. October 8, 2009 12:07 am

    Amazing photos reason2! You’ve got an eye!
    Did you put them up on flickr?

    • October 8, 2009 9:43 pm

      I am way not up to speed yet – I don’t have a flickr acct – I guess I should get one. 😎

  3. October 7, 2009 5:40 pm

    Great photos!

  4. Bee permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:23 pm

    This is the larger version of your Dhobi…haha!

  5. Caitlin permalink
    October 7, 2009 10:53 am

    Wow, great photos!

    • October 7, 2009 10:36 pm

      you would have loved it – apparently there is a similar street in Delhi……

  6. October 7, 2009 10:45 am

    Amazing photos, but how in the world do they keep track of it all?!

    • October 7, 2009 10:36 pm

      I really have no idea – but they seem to manage it beautifully. A lot of what you see are uniforms and linens – a lot of hotels send their cleaning to them

  7. Tottsmom permalink
    October 7, 2009 10:42 am

    lol, a brief look at my twisted sense of humor…It’s nice to see a man doing the laundry for once.

  8. October 7, 2009 7:12 am

    Love this. The colors do pop against the drab concrete and metal!

Leave a Reply

