Skip to content

Casting stones…………

October 5, 2009

While I have been trying to decide whether our cook is dishonest or whether our guard is dishonest or whether I really even care at all, I have been living in a glass house and tossing a few pebbles of my very own. It seems that I have become what I hate the most – T.H.A.T. parent. My imperfection came through loud and clear not too long ago and I sincerely offer my apologies to anyone who I have dubiously dubbed “that” parent in the past. I am now dining on my previously heartfelt declarations of “how could they” and “why would they” and am suffering the indignity of my own recent indiscretions.

A couple of weeks ago, we went to Mumbai for a swim meet. There wasn’t a lot of time left for sightseeing beyond the edges of the pool deck. So, when some friends of ours invited us to go on a bus tour of the city, we jumped right on. We don’t really have plans to return to Mumbai because there is so much we want to see outside of India. That meant that the tour sounded like a good way to take in a few sights quickly. We could at least say we had “seen” Mumbai. We landed in Mumbai in the early afternoon, went to the hotel, washed our faces, and started the tour.

It took a little bit longer than we thought it would. Traffic in Mumbai is crazy. So we got to dinner late. Very late. Bear and Flower were spending the day with host families so they were not with us. But Angel (our youngest) had no choice but to tag along. In her full glory, she fell asleep right in the middle of a battle of the bands competition at the Hard Rock Cafe Mumbai at ten o’clock at night. We even sat in the bar area – just to make it more ridiculous.

I have cast many a stone at parents who “find it necessary” to keep their young children out late at night. I can only imagine what I would have said about myself had I seen me drinking a glass of wine with Angel asleep next to me. Tsk. Tsk. I managed to successfully navigate my 7 year old through a bar at 10p at night in the midst of music playing so loudly that she surely lost some of her ability to hear – and yes, people were smoking and drinking and gyrating. Gasp. It was not my finest hour. I will be casting those stones no more.

The other adults with us ate super fast so that we could scoot out as quickly as possible. But I did manage to finish my glass of wine first. And yes, I bribed her to be good with a teddy bear from the gift shop. He can keep her company while I leave her completely unattended to accept my mother of the year award. Brittany Spears nominated me so I have no choice but to accept. πŸ˜‰

DSC02266

DSC02274

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 8:22 am

    Oh, honey, don’t feel bad. We take our son everywhere (except bars, because in MA he can’t enter a bar at the age of eight for some crazy reason), and he stays out late plenty.

    Christmas Eve, he’s usually up until 1 A.M. at the annual party we attend. It’s not like we do it on school nights, so it’s no big deal πŸ˜‰

  2. Kevin Brennan permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:42 am

    Oh please…. no need to justify your vices – we’d love to be there at the Hard Rock w/ you having some fun.
    Hope you get to enjoy many more bottles of wine in India.
    P.S> do you need anything special in your HAlloween basket….a hankering for anything in particular you miss.

  3. Kevin Brennan permalink
    October 6, 2009 7:23 am

    Hey! So what the hell is wrong with having a good time and trying to stimulate the local economy. You were just being good ambassadors of our great nation. Remember – yours will be the face many Indians remember of what American’s are all about(drinking / smoking and gyrating) it’s all about having fun. Enjoy it while you can….and don’t worry – kids are very resilient they bounce back over night like a computer being rebooted.
    Miss you guys…
    Kevin and Pam

    • October 6, 2009 7:50 am

      Uh oh – hold on one second – I did not say “I” was gyrating and smoking – just drinking – one vice a night is more than this old body can handle. Sadly, I was also up past my bedtime. 😎 We miss you too! Gone are the nights we can sit on your porch with a beverage and walk home while our kids play outside in the dark unattended. πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Putting it all on the line………… « A Reason To Write – India

Leave a Reply

