Skip to content

Now there is an idea………

April 1, 2009

India is teaching me a lot of things and here is what I learned yesterday.

Our (new, we are trying her out) cook made dinner for us last night. She made some things earlier in the day and then put them in the fridge until we were ready to eat. Instead of covering them with aluminum foil or saran wrap, she put plates on top of the bowls.

Seriously, this is brilliant. I don’t know why, but I am not a big fan of tupperware with lids. Maybe it’s the potential for major spillage when you pull the lid off. But, I am trying to be more conscious of our trash footprint – saran wrap and foil make that footprint larger. That is not good.

But this works great and it makes things much more stackable – which increases your fridge space. And there is nothing to throw away. YAHOO!

Just thought I would share………

img_7765

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Tottsmom permalink
    April 4, 2009 6:41 pm

    Deewane, Sometimes ending up like your Mom is a good thing, and sometimes, not so much. Don’t get me wrong, my Mom is a good cook, but she tends towards the fast and furious method of cooking vs the fresh and easy. She can make a mean pot of chicken and dumplin’s in 15 min. But to ask her to think about cooking “fresh” veggies? yikes! oh well, I guess I grew up healthy enough and she really is a good cook.

  2. deewane permalink
    April 4, 2009 7:23 am

    ok confession: I always feel such a twinge throwing away perfectly good plastic and glass containers after their contents have been used (like those juice bottles and minced garlic/ginger glass jars) I always end up washing and storing them and had a cupboard full of the stuff (don’t tell me, I do feel like a cheapskate!), but u know what, those are great for storing all the different types of pulses and beans and the smaller ones are used for storing whole spices and stuff. So, u know, the kitchen cupboard is not the prettiest or the most coordinated one but atleast I recycle 😛 And yup my Mom does it too (u do end up like ur parents eh!?!)

  3. April 4, 2009 6:06 am

    oh never realized this could be good too… i mean seen that happening but yes the thought u gave is interesting

  4. April 3, 2009 1:03 pm

    I do that 🙂

  5. April 2, 2009 11:09 pm

    Oma – it is how I am going to do it in the “new” days too 😎

    Deep – no offense taken – welcome to my world hee hee

    Tottsmom – sometimes we think an invention is great because is new and interesting and sometimes we don’t need to build a better mousetrap. 😎

    Sands – it is in my house now too

    Lola – I don’t need as much saran wrap now – and Deep yep, that is the brand name for plastic wrap

    heather – I love me some reuseable butter containers!

    mama bear – really, any plate would work, we use the regular dishes too
    and I just bet world market or Pier I would have them or even the dollar store

    Enchanted – me too.

    Pam – bring back that family tradition!

    Ke – I think India is still a third world country – and they are yummy cooks

  6. April 2, 2009 9:22 pm

    I’m beginning to think that all Indians are just good cooks. Everytime I’ve eaten a homemade Indian meal, it’s been delicious.

  7. April 2, 2009 9:21 pm

    This is common in many third world countries (is india still considered third world?) because serane wrap and foil are expensive.

  8. pam permalink
    April 2, 2009 6:44 pm

    my grandmother used to do this. (my dad still dose)

  9. April 2, 2009 4:57 pm

    Wow, been doing that for years but never realized, it is indeed a very “green” idea. You know through your experience I am discovering a lot of things about my country and people, which I didn’t bother to think about so much earlier. 🙂

  10. mama bear permalink
    April 2, 2009 3:10 pm

    Problem is try to find those flat plate in USA.. it will be a difficult task.

    Further, the heat in India doesn’t enable the “fridge” to get as cold as in USA, so
    the food better be covered well otherwise gets dehydrated.

    On side note– another thing I miss from an indian kitchen is: something called “SANSI”(utensil/pot holder) — This made life easy, pots didn’t needed handles (which don’t work anyways- heat and burn)–>

    Indiand Pot–> http://www.pushtimarg.net/newPushti/arts/silver_paatr/tapeli_spoon.jpg
    no handles– great for stovetops, no worries about kids tipping over the pot.
    and use all 4 burners.

  11. April 2, 2009 2:22 pm

    My mom always did this too, I just thought it was because she was too cheap to buy “real” containters. We always had butter bowls, empty jars, etc for food storage, never ziploc bags or Tupperware.

  12. April 2, 2009 12:39 pm

    @ Lola – saran wrap is that transparent plastic sheet thingy right? Is that like a brand name?

  13. April 2, 2009 12:15 pm

    I’ve done that for years, and I never even thought about it being “green”. It’s just the way my mother did it to be able to stack easier and avoid going to the store to buy Saran Wrap 😉

  14. April 2, 2009 11:54 am

    Everyone, well almost, uses plates to cover bowls that go in the fridge with leftovers. As Deep said, we have been doing this since forever and really we don’t do it because its the green way to go but we in India try to maximize the resources because of lack of the same. Using aluminum foil in my mom’s house was considered a big waste of money 🙂

  15. Tottsmom permalink
    April 2, 2009 10:40 am

    I think it is a great Idea. Imagine, having to go all the way to India to find out how to do something so “green” when everything you read here in the states has hundreds of ideas on how to change your footprint. I like this one, easy and I don’t have to buy anything to do it.

  16. April 2, 2009 10:07 am

    Ok, it’s really funny when something you’ve been doing for years and years, without even thinking about is suddenly “discovered” by someone else! No offense, but this is just too funny. But I guess it works both ways, right?

    By the way, what refrigerator is that?

  17. Oma permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:30 am

    In the old days that’s how we did it….

    Oma

  18. April 2, 2009 8:24 am

    Naomi – she made potato salad – it was yummy!

  19. April 2, 2009 7:37 am

    Learn somethin’ new every day!

    So, I’m curious … what did she cook?

Trackbacks

  1. Martha Stewart No More………… « A Reason To Write - India
  2. A Reason To Write - India

Leave a Reply

