Skip to content

The case of the mistaken comedian……..

January 28, 2010

While we were home, my parents offered to have the kids spend the night with them. Yahoo! That meant date night and that meant the DC Improv. Number One Hubby immediately went online and bought tickets – it didn’t even matter who was performing – we don’t know about comedy in India (please tell me if it is available in Delhi and where), we never go – so sign us up!

Then, hubby got a call from his boss. His boss who wanted him to go to Las Vegas. His boss who wanted him to go to Las Vegas on the night we had tickets for the DC Improv. His boss who wanted him to go to Las Vegas on the night we had tickets for the DC Improv and could sleep in the next morning because our kids would not be home.

So, hubby went to Las Vegas and I called my number one big brother. Hubby had also invited his younger brother (and fairly new girlfriend – who we had not met yet – who is absolutely delightful by the by). So we all went. Except for hubby who was in Las Vegas. (Did I mention already that he had to go to Las Vegas? For “work”. Oh – so sorry – he wasn’t at the comedy club because he got to had to go to Las Vegas. Yes, the one in Nevada – the fun one.)

Anylaugh, often at the Improv, the comedians will hang around the back of the room. I always look for them. I am not a groupie really just maybe a tad annoying in that I like to meet them and like to bring my people with me to meet them. So we looked at the brochure and saw some pictures of comedians. Then I looked back at the brochure, looked at the back of the room, and spotted someone probably famous. I grabbed my brother, said bring your phone/camera. He rolled his eyes – but he has known me for nearly 42 years and he knows there is no stopping his crazy blogging sister who wants a picture. Besides, he has done much worse for me. This was a fairly tame request.

We talked to this guy for a little bit – he was charming and funny. I told him we were really looking forward to the show. Asked him if he minded if I took a picture. Asked him if he minded if I put it on my blog.

He politely asked about my blog – you could see his eyes glaze over a little bit – oh great, another white mommy blogger – you could tell he was asking himself how he got so lucky to talk to me –  but he did ask what I wrote about – oh, about living in India. Hmmmmm. He looked at me like I either had three heads or had been drinking for three days straight. Sure, he said, put it on your “blog” – then please go back and sit down. (We used my brother’s brand new phone to take the picture so it’s a little blurry – sorry).

So we are I was all excited to have met the headliner. Although do you think it’s at all possible that I confused this guy with the headliner? That I introduced myself and my brother and talked to him about the show and he was not actually the headliner?

Did not.

Okay,

maybe

I did.

He was actually the second act of the night – the pre-headliner. At least he was not the janitor or the bouncer. Thankfully I did not call him by name. I just told him we were excited to see his show – which was completely true. And it turns out that he is hilarious. His name is Chris Paul – and he has his own blog about Redskins football which I am quite sure he will appreciate me mentioning here. Just doing what I can to help a brother out!

So then the headliner comes on – it is Huggy Lowdown. Apparently, the real Huggy Lowdown – not the pre-headliner comedian who I confused with Huggy Lowdown. Also very, very funny. I would repeat some of his jokes – but I can guarantee it wouldn’t be the same. For instance, he talked very briefly about Tiger Woods and called a very pretty group of blond white ladies sitting together Kryptonite. Yeah, me calling them kryptonite not exactly the same or all that funny. Unless you are at an Ellen DeGeneres show. Then maybe.

And at the end of the show, Huggy said, “we’ll be available for pictures after the show.” My brother just dropped his head and grabbed his phone. My brother-in-law just laughed.

I personally think we look like an oreo cookie. It was a great night!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    February 2, 2010 10:21 am

    What a great post! It was a great night…highlighted by your antics with the camera :). I hope ya’ll are doing well,
    Courtney

  2. pinkpangea permalink
    January 31, 2010 8:56 am

    Hi,

    This is really a great blog – well written and great pictures from India.

    I just started this travel blog for women and I’m collecting photos from women like you. Submit a photo of yourself in India and some tips for other women travelers who are going there, and we’ll link back to your blog.

    Visit our blog: http://www.pinkpangea.wordpress.com and get in touch at: pinkpangea@gmail.com

    Looking forward to hearing from you,
    Rachel

  3. January 29, 2010 9:25 pm

    Hey you! He was hysterical! Please share my post with his wife – maybe he will get a laugh of it. We are back in India until the summer – we want to see your crew when we get back! We were just home for two weeks….

  4. Lisa permalink
    January 29, 2010 5:41 pm

    Small world that you met Chris Paul. I am friends with his wife, Rachel! I am a fan of his on FB, he is really funny. Sorry that we missed the show. Too bad hubby had to “work” in Vegas! How long are you going to be home?

  5. January 29, 2010 3:12 pm

    I am so glad you had a good time! Even with hubby absent in Vegas. LOL

  6. January 29, 2010 12:33 pm

    Viva Improv lol
    Huggy Lowdown? any relation to Huggy Bear from Starsky & hutch?
    Man, I would love to be in Vegas! Even on Biz.
    Anyvegas, nice story (-;

    • January 29, 2010 9:24 pm

      He just might have been! LoL. I have never been to Vegas – but hubby tells me it is nice. 😉

  7. January 29, 2010 12:32 am

    angel was asking about you – the kids would love to see you – want to come to India?

  8. ceci permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:33 pm

    Sounds like fun, too bad Hubby had to travel to Las Vegas, it’s no fun without you.

Leave a Reply

