Skip to content

One Act…………….

January 31, 2009

One of my very favorite books is Mitch Albom’s The Five People You Meet in Heaven. It reminds us that no thing, no act, and no one is insignificant. No interaction goes unattended. Even in sneezing you can get blessed. It really is so simple.

Maybe that is why it is so easy to forget. To take it all for granted. Or maybe it is what allows to interact with each other without expectation. To be kind just for the sake of being kind.

One question seems to repeat itself in my life right now. How did you get to India? The simple answer is – my husband works here. But that hardly tells the story.

Many years ago, my husband helped someone out. Someone who, at the time, really didn’t seem to have much to offer in the way of compensation. There seemed to be nothing to come from helping him out. Well, except, that kindness is its own reward. It just feels good. And my husband really did not have to do much – he just spoke up. There was no way he could have possibly known the implications of that one small act of kindness. It cost him absolutely nothing but has, in turn, given him back so much.

That person later helped him get a job. A job with a struggling company – a start up. It was a wonderful experience on a number of levels. Another reward in and of itself. And it was where my husband met his current boss. The boss who called him somewhat out of the blue and offered him this experience. This life in India.

And it all started with just one act. Of kindness.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 3:45 am

    Lola – it is a great book – I need to reread it.

    Loco – giving is a gift to the giver!

  2. February 3, 2009 12:21 am

    I know exactly what u mean. My new roommate just came back from a trip with $8000 extra dollars. So what does he do? He takes me and our other 4 roomates out for dinner and karaoke. We had a grand time. He inspired me. I’ve never done anything like that before, but i am POSITIVE I will in the days to come.
    I thought it was just an extraordinary act of generosity with the side benefit of establishing good relations with the people you live with and creating a positive karma…a small price to pay.
    thanks for the post

  3. February 1, 2009 3:10 am

    So, that’s how you got there. Very nice story, and I loved that book, too.

Trackbacks

  1. Old Habits Die Hard……….. « A Reason To Write - India

Leave a Reply

