Skip to content

Not weird, just different…………..

February 1, 2009

Before we left on this grand adventure, I had several fireside chats with my kids. One of them focused on different v. weird. I wanted them to not use the word weird – ever. Things are just going to be a little very different.

So, you what’s different, you ask. Besides everything, you mean?

Let’s see…………..

Queso is not here. Bummer. Big Bummer. I miss her scratchy cat kisses.

Milk has to be boiled and only lasts a few days. We used to go through about 6 gallons of milk a week – we are not doing that now. And, it does not taste weird – just different.

You absolutely cannot drink water out of the faucet – we brush our teeth with filtered or bottled water.

Fruits and vegetables have to be soaked in a cleaning solution for at least half an hour before you eat them. Even pineapples.

Electrical outlets have on/off switches. Yep, you have to turn on the outlet – then turn on whatever is plugged in.

My underwear got ironed yesterday. No I am not kidding. Yes, that is horrifying. It was especially funny to me because it was a pair with a hole in it. I am also laughing that my underwear is big enough to iron – okay, it’s not that funny.

The newspaper comes at 9pm at night.

Our doorbell rings like a bird chirping. They ring the doorbell when they drop off the paper. That is not weird – but a little unnecessary.

All of my friends and family are asleep when I am awake. That seems at least lonely and maybe a little weird.

I get a salad for lunch and dinner every day – and I do not have to make it! Raju puts corn in the salad sometimes. Bonus.

Yesterday we ordered McDonalds for lunch. It was delivered to our door. They do not sell hamburgers or nuggets but the chicken sandwich was quite yummy. They do sell a Mexican chicken wrap. That is not weird, but it is funny (at least to me).

Bear, Flower, and Angel have eaten something at every meal that they have never had before. They have (really) liked almost everything. The only thing they did not like was the refried beans. I can’t say I blame them – a little goes a long way.

Flower will take Spanish in school.

Bear has two elective classes – they are Odyssey of the Mind and Lego Robotics.

Angel will get to take an art class after school and a freestyle dance class. Flower is thinking about joining a rock climbing club and bollywood dance class.

Some men hold hands here. I don’t think they are gay – they are just holding hands.

You walk and drive on the opposite side of what we are used to. This is sometimes a problem when walking down the stairs. The school has arrows on the steps to help you remember. I think that is more for the adults than the kids.

There are men that ride around on bicycles selling things. They shout out what they are selling in a steady jumbled song. The first time I heard it, I thought someone was crying – now I just wish I knew what they were saying. They almost fall off their bike when they see my white-skinned self. It is pretty funny actually – I am quite sure they think I look weird. I don’t think their moms have had a chance to explain different yet.

The windows let in all the noise from outside. This is only a problem when fireworks go off in the middle of the night.

The toilet paper is not very soft. At all.

There is a lot more that is different – but I can’t use up all my material in one post. So, I’ll be back with more later. So life here is not weird, it’s just not what we are used to. See the difference?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Mukunthan permalink
    April 14, 2010 2:57 am

    Your blog is simply awesome…
    There often is an amount of surprise for an expat in the new land they get into! I’m finding similar stuffs in my new home in the middle-east (still, I have a lot of natives, accompanying me here).
    I appreciate your efforts and optimism in taking your new lifestyle in Delhi and thank you for the same.
    Wish you all the best you in your Delhi experience.

    • April 14, 2010 8:56 am

      Thank you so much for stopping by and for such kind words. This adventure has just been amazing – stay tuned – I will be writing soon about how it has really changed me! 😎

  2. Kathleen permalink
    February 14, 2009 1:22 pm

    I did Odessy of the Mind when I was in school (here in Ohio) I wonder if its the same thing!

  3. Shoba permalink
    February 14, 2009 8:39 am

    Hi, I’m a journalist. I’m working on a story on expat bloggers. Would love to talk to you about your blog. My email: vshoba@gmail.com

  4. February 5, 2009 3:34 am

    Good post! I could not agree more about things being different a lot. I am staying in Mumbai for more than a year now and still experience culture shock from time to time :o)

    Our paper comes before 6 am every morning and thanks God, they don’t ring the door bell for that!

    You can easily buy milk that you don’t have to boil and last for many days (you don’t get it delivered to your door though).

    I learnt that on/off switches on outlets are useful after half of our appliances got damaged due to the power fluctuation… Good thing that everything was still new and we had warranties. It took some calls and some time, but it all got fixed one by one.

    And I had my underwear ironed once too! :o) After that I make sure to always keep it away as soon as it dries :o)

    Keep blogging!

  5. February 3, 2009 2:05 pm

    Umm, who is Raju? I don’t recall reading about cooks and ironing angels.

  6. February 3, 2009 7:09 am

    Lego Robotics? Awesome!

  7. February 3, 2009 3:31 am

    Deewane – I think it comes so late because it is the NY times – my hubby got a one month subscription – but it is very expensive so we are not continuing it. but it does come late. With my jet lag I am usually in bed when the bird chirps.

  8. deewane permalink
    February 3, 2009 3:14 am

    LOL! Newspaper at 9:00, o.k. don’t think me stupid, I have just been out of Delhi for a couple of years but our paper boy ALWAYS delivered at 6:00 in the morning :P…this is so funny 🙂

    Now I miss home 😦

  9. February 3, 2009 2:02 am

    Josie – ironed underwear is just one of the many different things I have seen. LOL

    Kirsten – thanks for following along

    Meredith – different is the only way to look at it – otherwise it’s hard to take in

    Loco – welcome back – I just caught up on your blog – very nice – and yes, I have a million reasons2write right now – it is heavenly

  10. February 3, 2009 12:28 am

    Well, you’ve got so many new reasons2write…aren’t you in a writer’s wet dream? I’m gnashing my teeth

    hehe

  11. February 2, 2009 6:53 pm

    So many new things to get used to… that’s life in a foreign country. I like your attitude and what you’re teaching your kids that it’s “different” and not weird. I’ll have to remember that when we go to Japan.

  12. Kirsten permalink
    February 2, 2009 6:17 pm

    Thank you so much for continuing to write about your experiences, as only you can. I absolutely love reading them…appreciating your humor and levity as you all are learning a new place (not weird, just different). Continue your excursions…

  13. February 1, 2009 10:06 pm

    I am chuckling! I would feel that someone ironing my underwear was an invasion on my privacy – ughh. (My mother ironed my father’s underwear up until a couple of years ago!!! – me, I don’t even own an iron). You are going to get very spoiled with your domestic help. I fear that going backwards is going to be painful on your return.

    It would be funny to hear what your children think is “different” but not weird. Loving following along with your adventure!

Trackbacks

  1. More different………….. « A Reason To Write - India

Leave a Reply

