Skip to content

One potato, two potatoes, three potatoes, four…

December 1, 2008
tags: ,

Remember when decisions were that easy? When you had to make choices, you just had to know how many pieces of bubble gum someone wished. And “olly olly oxen free” meant everyone was safe. It was that simple. We’re done playing, it’s getting dark, time for dinner – olly olly oxen free. And if that didn’t work, there was the famous 8 ball – it knew everything. (And, the best part was, if you didn’t like the answer – just shake it again.)

Okay – I just went on Wikipedia to make sure I was spelling Olly Olly Oxen Free right and found this out…

The exact origin of the phrase is unknown, but etymologists suspect it is a childish corruption of the German “Alle, alle auch sind frei!”, (literally, “Everyone, everyone also is free!”), which is purported to have been a cruel joke often played upon Holocaust victims by their jailers. At any particular time, a prisoner might be released, immediately upon which the phrase would be shouted. Any other prisoners who also left would be killed further down the road by Nazi soldiers.

Again, I just don’t know what to say.

Back to my dilemma. Number One Hubby and I have had a few discussions. We didn’t make any real progress. I am more aware of geography, politics, religion, and conflict than I ever imagined I would be. I am actually reading the newspaper now. I learned how to share the evil of the world with my sweet children without scaring the beejesus out of them. And I still do not know what to do.

P.S. and, yes, I tried the 8 ball – it just keeps getting stuck on an edge – no help whatsoever.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2008 8:48 pm

    lola – isn’t that bizarre – ick – my 8 ball is officially in the trash as well…

  2. December 1, 2008 7:58 pm

    That’s the origin of that childhood saying? YIKES. See why I love blogging, you learn something new every day. Yeah, my 8-ball always got stuck on all signs point to no kind of answers. Not what I wanted to hear, so I tossed that thing in the trash.

    Information is power, and that’s about all you can do right now.

Leave a comment