Skip to content

I hardly know what to say…

November 27, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone. And today I am most thankful that number one hubby is here safe and sound on American soil. We enjoyed Cirque De Soleil last night with a new appreciation for the safety of the good old USA. It was a nice distraction – we enjoyed a very slow dinner without watching the news. We disappeared in to the laughter of the crowds. It was magical and it took us completely away from our worries.

Right now our children are blissfully unaware of what happened yesterday in India. We are enjoying cooking with them and are looking forward to having our family here to hold hands and say a Thanksgiving blessing before dinner. We are especially grateful that number one hubby’s brother will be joining us after serving in Iraq for 15 long months. We are more appreciative of that service now than ever.

We are thankful for your prayers and well wishes. And, we are going to enjoy the luxury of putting the madness of yesterday to the side to bask in the best America has to offer – family, too much food, football, and the peace and quiet of our little street.

Surely, we have decisions to make – but thankfully, they can wait until tomorrow.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2008 9:31 am

    Liz – wow – wish your friend good luck for me too. Very scary!

  2. Liz Persell permalink
    December 3, 2008 10:14 pm

    I can’t believe I have two friends who have husbands were in India (the other was actually in Mumbia) the day before the massacre. On the one hand it’s amazing that we can travel to such places, and on the other it’s so scary what’s happening. I’m saying a prayer for you guys – you have some big decisions to make.

  3. Locohama permalink
    November 28, 2008 9:59 pm

    Glad you had a wonderful thanksgiving and Number 1 hubby was safe and sound. (-:
    God I miss Turkey

    Loco

  4. November 28, 2008 9:53 am

    Lola – thank you so much! This was my best Thanksgiving EVER!

    Diana – thank you and best wishes to you everyone you care about!

  5. November 28, 2008 3:17 am

    This is my first time to visit your site. Good to know that your hubby was safe.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. November 27, 2008 10:16 pm

    I don’t even know you, Ellen, except through the blogosphere, and you and your family were the first thing I thought about when I saw the breaking news. So glad hubby was home, and I hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving with his brother and the rest of your family.

  7. Nancy permalink
    November 27, 2008 8:51 pm

    You are on my mind and in my heart.

  8. ellen permalink
    November 27, 2008 8:28 pm

    me too

  9. Colleen permalink
    November 27, 2008 2:02 pm

    Ellen,

    I’m so glad to hear that Scott is safe. Enjoy your Thanksgiving.

    Colleen

Leave a comment