Skip to content

Focus on the writing……..

July 3, 2012

This is a classic case of “do what I say, not what I do.” 

Those who have been following along on my writing journey know that I have been busy with the work of becoming an author.

I have already talked with two literary agents about my novel. This one gave me tons of advice.

My title is decided – The Alligator Purse.

I have artwork.

I have fabulous beta readers.

My synopsis is done – the long and short version.

And I have all of three and a half chapters written. Yes, I agree. That is not enough to call it a “book” yet.

Unfortunately, all of the other stuff has just been putting the pencil before the eraser. Because even after my story is “done”, I will need to edit and edit and edit some more.

But right now I still have tons of basic stuff to do. Like, I dunno, write the rest of the story. 😉

If you aren’t writing your work in progress (known as WIP), you don’t really need a fabulous title, cover art, agents, or even an audience.

I have been struggling with building a platform and making connections and have forgotten why I started all of this in the first place.

So back to the grind. Arse in Seat here I come….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kris Swanguarin permalink
    July 19, 2012 5:27 pm

    Some year back I raced cars. When I first started, I was slow — like last-place slow. I’d complain to the other drivers. They would all pretty much say the same thing, “Seat time. You just need more seat time.” It turned out to be true. I did get better.
    I would hazard a guess that the successful writers are the ones who put in their seat time. There are a million distractions that keep us from this. I was out of my seat this morning when I read this: http://49writers.blogspot.com/2012/07/nicole-stellon-odonnell-advice-to-poets.html It confirms what you say also.
    Thanks for following on Twitter. Now, I’m going to returned to my seat, right after I run my daughter to a job interview.

  2. July 5, 2012 6:47 am

    Any work is progress! I’m sure you’re doing a great job. Keep on keepin’ on. (:

  3. Debbie Lyman permalink
    July 4, 2012 11:30 am

    Looking forward to reading any and all new chapters!

    • July 5, 2012 12:31 pm

      I should have Chapter 4 on its way soon. If I can stop playing Scramble. 😎

Leave a comment