Skip to content

This guy – bicycles in Beijing………

May 10, 2010

A little while ago, I wrote a this guy post with random pictures of people we have seen along the way in our travels through Asia. This seemed a fitting way to make tribute to the many, many bicyclists we saw in Beijing. They were everywhere – and, India, if you are listening, the major roads in Beijing have bicycle lanes. I am sure I don’t need to tell you the number of reasons why this is a very, very good idea. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And the helmet phenomena has apparently not hit Beijing. I did not see one helmet during our journey.

Anybike, it seems Delhi has many more motorcycles/scooters and Beijing has many more foot-powered bikes. But bikes were used for more than just transportation. These guys had bikes-slash-food stalls.

So sorry that the tree got in the way on this one – but I don’t know if I have mentioned that I am not a professional photographer and it is actually quite difficult to get a picture of a moving target when you are yourself moving and trying to take in all the sites. ๐Ÿ˜‰ This bike looked like something out of the M.A.S.H. tv show but I don’t think that this guy was Radar riding on it.

I love this one – it is the bicycle repair shop. Fantastic. This guy can fix your bike – I bet he could even do it while you were riding by.

Yes, I am aware that this is not a bike – but it is fun, isn’t it? I think this is China’s version of a rickshaw – but don’t quote me on that.

This guy has the tire bike. But they are clearly not tires for bikes.

This guy has the trash bike.

A mini bike parade.

Another trash bike – maybe this is why there wasn’t much trash on the streets.

I have no idea what is in this bike – but it looks like it might be a cooler of some sort – so maybe drinks.

This guy is delivering someone’s lunch and apparently did not want his picture taken.

Another “I don’t know” picture – but fun.

This just might be my favorite. I love the baskets on the front of the bikes.

And more recycling. Yahoo!

And you might notice that there are no women in these pictures. Please don’t take that to mean that there are no women on bikes in Beijing – there are certainly women riding bikes. I just did not happen to capture any of them. Remember the whole “hard to take pictures of a moving target while moving” blah, blah, blah?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 12:25 pm

    You’re right,there has so many on the bike too,and i used to ride bike when i was students, we’ve got a great skill of bicycle.lol…

    I’ve also noticed there has so many moto just like so many bike in BJ,and they are very good to ride it!!!

    enjoy your blog,thanks for share.

  2. May 10, 2010 5:38 am

    Hello,

    I was googling Delhi and came across your blog and i have to say that i absolutely love it. I love it so much that instead of working i have been reading your old posts! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 10, 2010 7:09 am

      Hi Anju – welcome! And thanks for reading! I hope you will come back often. But be careful just in case your boss is watching – tee hee

Trackbacks

  1. Holy Cow, Macao……….. « A Reason To Write

Leave a Reply

