Skip to content

And they’re off………

November 7, 2009

I have had yet another adventure that I probably would not have experienced if I was still in my comfort zone the U.S.

There are quite a few Australians who live in Delhi. It turns out that they are a really fun bunch. They are also a charitable bunch.

The Melbourne Cup is apparently THE horse race in Australia – think Kentucky Derby. It is actually called “the race that stops a nation”. So imagine how sad the Aussies in India must be to miss this special day in their homeland. But sad they need not be. Those living here throw a party at the same time as the real race in Australia and call it a fundraiser. See, smart, fun, and charitable. I like them already.

I was lucky enough to go. And, as any good horse race attender would do, I donned a big-arse hat.

DSC03548

The woman on the far left just had a baby 4 weeks ago – so she totally gets a pass on not having a hat. In fact, she gets a big round of applause for going out at all with her first born baby to a party in India when that baby is only 4 weeks old. (And to think I was so impressed with myself when I made it to Walmart with my first newborn. Ha.) The woman in the middle does have a hat on – really a fascinator (which is a head band with big-arse stuff on it) – but you can barely see it because my fascinator is actually the size of Australia and it was blocking out the sun. Kind of hard to see anything around that big-arse thing. At least it hid my roots.

DSC03556

This lady is one of my favorite people here – she always has a big smile on her face and an amazing attitude. Yes, I dumb her down a bit. Here is a good tip to remember – if you have a friend who is not exactly tallish and is not wearing heels, and you are wearing heels and a fascinator that can block the sun, you are going to look a wee bit Hagridish if you stand next to her and take a picture. And see that skirt of hers, that is exactly why I love her – she thinks if you are going to wear a crazy hat, you might as well have a Barbie skirt to match it.

There were contests for the best hat, most creative hat, best dressed woman, best dressed man drunkest man, and so on. Did I mention the champagne was free flowing? It was.

DSC03564

The lady on the right was sitting at our table and she got nominated for best dressed – at first I thought she was selected for having the best table mate, but apparently her recognition had nothing to do with me. Whatever.

DSC03566

This lady won for best hat. It was a pretty fun hat.

DSC03543

DSC03552

All in all, it was a fun morning. If you are in Delhi the first Tuesday in November next year – mark your calendar and get shopping for a hat. And if you choose a big hat, you might want to start doing some strength training on your neck.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jasmeet permalink
    November 13, 2009 12:33 pm

    Where was this again?

  2. November 8, 2009 8:13 pm

    that sounds and looks πŸ™‚ a loads of fun, a big arse fun!!

  3. November 7, 2009 3:43 pm

    Now, you know I hate Barbie, but I LOVE that skirt!!! Your dress is gorgeous. Not too sure about your “hat,” though πŸ˜‰

    Glad you had fun with the Aussies!!!

    • November 7, 2009 10:30 pm

      Oh, it would have been very fun to have you there Lola! And I will bring the hat back for you – you can wear it next Halloween! 😎

  4. November 7, 2009 12:53 pm

    Oh what a fun gathering for the girls to attend. I love wearing hats!

Leave a Reply

