Skip to content

out to lunch…………

August 27, 2009

Today I am hosting a very casual luncheon. So I am just a wee bit busy. I’ll catch you up on how it goes very soon. But I’ll give you a snipet of how it has begun….

We have 6 chairs around our table. I invited more than 6 people. hmmmmmmmm. No biggie, right? Right. So I rented tables. 3 of them. And several chairs.

The tables were delivered at 11p – yes, at night. No, I am not kidding. 4 men came to setup 3 tables and it took an hour to set them up. Nope, not kidding.

As is typical with any kind of rented table, they looked terrible as a bare table. So we requested table cloths. The first suggestion made by the rental company was white table cloths with red satin bows. Yea. Not so much. We decided to just go with just the white table cloths.

The two round tables have white striped satin cloths on them. I am not a huge fan of satin – but it looks better than the bare table. The rectangular table has a solid white fabric cloth draped around the sides and – wait for it – a piece of cream colored paper (think butcher paper) on the top. Again, not kidding.

They also draped the chairs with white satin covers. It looked like cotton candy exploded on the tables and chairs. So, I am dumbing it way down and using my own table covers – call them table covers because they are actually bed covers, but they look way better – I’ll take pictures so you can see – I also took the covers off the chairs – they are red and black. Expect the unexpected.

Just as the tent wallas (that’s what they are called) were getting ready to leave, I realized that the rectangular table is completely slanted at one corner. I sat in a chair to look at it from another angle and realized the chair was also completely crooked.

Have no fear, I am a creative hostess – I am serving wine before lunch and a lot of it. By the time my guests sit down, they will think something is wrong with them – not the table/chair.

I did have a fun idea – I am using bracelets from an Indian market as napkin holders and the guests will all get to take theirs home as a party favor. I’ll let you know how it all goes.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Tottsmom permalink
    August 30, 2009 11:29 pm

    Glad everything went well. I’m having a great glass of wine right now that I got in Napa a couple of weeks ago. OK, so it was a little more than a glass, but it was still great. I am enjoying the blog. Keep up the good writing.

  2. Leadfoot permalink
    August 30, 2009 5:31 am

    Couldn’t have been better, wonderful time!

  3. caitlin permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:35 pm

    Sounds like it was a lot of fun. So sorry I missed it!

  4. Nancy permalink
    August 28, 2009 2:33 pm

    I wish I was there!

  5. August 28, 2009 1:32 pm

    Oh good lord. I was NOT supposed to take the dice thing-a-ma-jigger, was I … I’ll bring it back to you at school on Monday.

    You’re right – by the way – no one noticed that the table was slanted!

    • August 28, 2009 10:42 pm

      yes you were – I do not reveal all my secrets ahead of time – I know some of the guests read my blog and I didn’t want to give away all the fun

  6. August 28, 2009 12:40 pm

    You are one creative (and hilarious) lady! Good luck!

    • August 28, 2009 10:41 pm

      you would have been fun to have here – maybe you can come next time – Japan isn’t that far right?

  7. August 28, 2009 12:22 pm

    Well it sounds like fun even with slanted tables and chairs. Wine makes everything better.

  8. Tottsmom permalink
    August 28, 2009 12:01 pm

    You get extra point in the creativity department! I like the bracelet idea. I have used the bed cover (read sheet) idea way more than I care to admit. I’ve never been to a luncheon that they served wine, I think I’m might be hanging out with the wrong crowd. Sounds like you are going to have a great time. Have fun, can’t wait to see the pics.

    • August 28, 2009 10:40 pm

      The bracelets were fun – and no cat fights broke out – dang it! I also gave away these little dice sets – they were very fun. And yes, wine is served a lot here.

  9. Girlsmom permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:37 am

    It is wonderful that you are so creative and see all the possibilities.

  10. August 28, 2009 1:13 am

    Let the wine and food flow! Have fun…post pics.

  11. August 27, 2009 11:10 pm

    All the best!

Trackbacks

  1. How to succeed in life without really trying…….. « A Reason To Write – India

Leave a Reply

