Skip to content

Give India…………

August 17, 2009

As I have mentioned before, it is hard to know where to even begin to help in a country as large as India. There is a lot of need and there are a lot of good people trying to address those needs. But surely there are some scoundrels too. So, who do you trust?

Well, I just came across an organization called Give India. They seem to be a good place to start. If nothing else, it is an interesting place to read about all of the good work that is being done in India. They review charitable groups and, if they meet their requirements, they will list them on their website. Once they are on the website, they are eligible to receive donations thru the website.

To my Indian readers – if you know something about Give India that I do not – please share it with us.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Manju permalink
    October 15, 2011 10:55 am

    I was planning on making a donation through Give India but learned that I need to provide my passport number as part of the process. Is there any way to donate without having to do that?

    • October 17, 2011 10:14 am

      I don’t know – you might want to contact them directly – but I would definitely not share your passport number

  2. August 20, 2009 12:40 am

    Hello there,

    My name is Amit and I work with GiveIndia. In fact I am the author of our official blog. I’m so glad you found us and you wrote about us. Here’s a couple of things about us that you may not know.

    1. GiveIndia operates with one of the lowest costs of fundraising in the world. In a sector where the avg cost is anywhere from 20 – 40% (which means a NGO has to spend Rs20 – Rs40 to raise Rs100) our cost of fundraising is in the single digits at 9.1%.

    2. When you make a donation to one of the choices on our website, you will receive an individual feedback report to learn more about the person you helped.

    3. Many highly qualified people have left their jobs in the corporate world to work with GiveIndia at lower salaries because they want to make a difference.

    I could go on, but I suggest you visit our blog to learn more and to keep up with all the latest happenings.

  3. August 19, 2009 12:52 am

    Hi,

    I first heard about GiveIndia many years ago but got acquainted with the (fantastic) work they do fairly recently.

    I’ve tweeted about the 200+ NGOs that are listed with GiveIndia here: http://twitter.com/FundACause

    Or you could check them out here –

    http://www.giveindia.org/CauseWise.aspx

    You might also want to check out a presentation that GI made at the UN last year:

    http://FundACause.posterous.com/giveindia-presentation-the-need-for-giving-in

    I can also send you information on the non-monetary ways in which one can help GI (volunteering time, helping them find a designer, etc.). Let me know if you want me to.

  4. mehta permalink
    August 18, 2009 2:40 pm

    Please read about Pardada Pardadi Foundation at http://ourdelhistruggle.com/. You can find links to the foundation on this blog.

  5. August 18, 2009 10:51 am

    We donate through CRY America. As an economist, I think the best use of any charitable dollars (in terms of bang for you buck) is towards keeping children alive, healthy, and educated in developing countries.

  6. August 17, 2009 10:30 pm

    Thank you for telling about this!!
    I usually go through http://www.aidindia.org.

  7. August 17, 2009 11:55 am

    Why do I get the feeling I’ve missed something?

    • August 18, 2009 10:41 pm

      you have to read Missing the Point on SRK to see what all the hubbub is about

  8. tracy permalink
    August 17, 2009 11:29 am

    Operation Shanti does Amazing things for the street kids and Moms in Gokulam. Visit my blog..or go to http://www.operation-shanti.org
    Thanks for asking..and for caring!
    http://alotusgirl-tracy.blogspot.com/
    Namaste!
    Tracy

  9. Leadfoot permalink
    August 17, 2009 9:46 am

    Perhaps SRK can start his philanthropy at home – suggested donation 100 INR for each time he uses the words, ‘angry’, ‘outraged’, ‘humiliated’, and 10,000 INR for each time he refers to searching a Hollywood star with his own hands? Let the fundraising begin! I’d probably pay it just to have him pipe down and put his big boy panties on….

Leave a Reply

