Skip to content

Superhero Complexes…

June 1, 2012

I am going to try really hard to not make my new favorite blogger, Jeff Goins, sound like an amazing superhero writer with a magical pencil – but only because his blog tells  me not to. And that is the only reason.

Because I heart his writing and practical advice about writing. And today he invited another non-superhero to guest on his blog.

In this post, Jeff’ guest blogger Denise Urena reminds us that our heroes are just people.

She talks about the authenticity of fanship and how we have a greater purpose than simply admiring the work of others.

Denise goes on to say, “This is not what we’ve been called to do. We’ve been given a greater opportunity than merely sucking up. We have something to contribute, too.”

That is pretty powerful.

We all have power and potential. We really just need confidence.

If you aren’t sure why every single one of us should embrace that confidence, read this post by Jeff himself – the awesome blogger who is probably not really a superhero – but is a dang good writer. 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 7:17 am

    Ain’t it the truth!

  2. June 2, 2012 10:55 am

    I found him through you, and have been devouring his words too! I like this idea of having a responsibility as a fan. I definitely have my idols, but I’ve needed to establish that relationship before I felt that they would value my suggestions or even “constructive criticism.” Even still, I hesitate because sometimes it’s just fun to be a fan. We can all use some.

    • June 4, 2012 3:07 pm

      Hi Christina – I love his “you can totally do this” approach. And yes, fans are good – as long as we remember that we are all just people in different places in our journeys! 😎

Leave a Reply

