Skip to content

A watched pot never boils……

April 11, 2012

I am here to shatter the universal truths of wives tales all across the globe. Today I write to declare that the saying “a watched pot never boils” is particularly egregious in its wrongness.

If you have ever made pasta or boiled eggs, you know well the malady that ensues when said watched pot boils all over the burning-hot-water-place.

In fact, pots with angry liquid bubbling inside their defenseless walls must often been watched to keep children, starving husbands, and small animals safe.

But no more.

I heard about this neat little trick and feigned disbelief at its simplicity. Dare I believe? To save you all the roller coaster ride of eternal hope and possible let down, I tried it out myself. And, yes, it works.

All you need is a wooden-handled spoon or spatula that is longer than your pot is wide. Watch and be amazed.

And please, no comments on how dirty my stove top is. I am saving the children, starving husbands, and small animals of the world from being burned by bubbling hot water. I cannot be busy with cleaning. There are only so many hours in the day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 10:06 am

    Hi Ellen, does this work for soups? I have to set loud timers for everything I do in the kitchen but it keeps me from wandering. Soups, especially bean soups, produce so much bubbling and gas release, I’m wondering if this might be the answer.

    • April 23, 2012 11:09 am

      Hi – I am not sure – but this was pasta – so I am guessing it’s worth a try!

  2. April 12, 2012 2:00 pm

    seriously – we cannot be responsible for the safety of the world and a clean stove top all at the same time.

    • Lee permalink
      April 12, 2012 7:12 pm

      HeHe – – That’s my new mantra!!!!!!

  3. Debbie Lyman permalink
    April 12, 2012 10:27 am

    Love the comment accompanying your picture. I’m going to have to steal that explanation for why my house is always a wreck…

Leave a Reply

