Skip to content

Putting my money where my keyboard is……

February 13, 2012

Yesterday I wrote about Sasha’s Generosity Day Project and I pledged to participate on February 14th. Well, dear readers, I just got me a jumpstart.

I started by donating to a project called Acres for Agnes. Naomi is a friend from my Delhi life and her mom has already reached her goal of $12,000 which will do this for Agnes and her family…

Buying me some bovines for the Generosity Day Project.

  • buy 2 acres of farm land
  • build a simple mud hut and separate kitchen
  • dig a pit latrine, with an adjoining washroom (for bathing)
  • and possibly be enough to dig a well so that she and the boys can have clean drinking water

So I figured a little extra can’t hurt because maybe it will be that little extra that will get them a well for clean drinking water. Let’s hear it for clean drinking water! Yeah!

Then I bought me some heifers at Heifers.org. These bovines will be donated to families in need. And I also donated to the Seeds of Change in Arkansas and Appalachia through the Heifer.org website to help those families struggling in America.

And yes, I feel amazing! Tomorrow might not be about monetary donations but I am going to make sure I am generous in one way or another! You can still join in the fun by clicking here to pledge! You will be the one who gets the greatest gift! Pinky Swear!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 11:54 pm

    YES! Thank you, Ellen, on behalf of my friend, Agnes!

    -deb (Naomi’s mom)

  2. February 13, 2012 8:30 pm

    Awesome! Thanks Ellen, on behalf of Agnes and her boys!! (and all of those who will benefit from this project) I love the Generosity Day Project … brilliant!

    (sharing this with my mom now)

Trackbacks

  1. The Ripple Effect……….. « A Reason To Write

Leave a Reply

