Skip to content

Writing Across the Bridge………

February 7, 2012

A little over a month ago, I joined a second writing group. Yeah for me. I still love my original writing group a whole bunch but the second group is an amazing complement to my writing experience.

Several of the women also blog. Yeah again. And the other day Bryn posted information about this contest on her site. It is called Bridge the Gap. Willing writers are presented two pictures and are challenged to write a story (in under 1,000 words) that connects the two images. These types of prompts are fabulous if you ever feel like you just don’t know what to write about. I have not written fiction in a very, very long time and this was just the kick in the pen I needed.

It sounds a wee bit scary because the pictures don’t appear to relate to each other but they are supposed to seem to have absolutely nothing in common. That pushes your creativity. There is a reasonable word limit of 1,000 words (that about 2 single-spaced pages – but it can be under that limit). That makes it less intimidating. The reviewers make paper airplanes out of the submissions when they are done reading them. That means they must be fun people.

There is even a cash prize of $50. Yeah thrice. But don’t bother submitting for the Feb. 16th deadline – because I just hit enter on my submission. 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 10:54 am

    Good luck, girl! I will be rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

