Skip to content

Occupy Walmart………….

October 25, 2011

I have to be completely honest here. I am not really clear on what the “occupy” movement is all about. Sure there are snippets about it on the news here and there and I have seen some pictures. But my understanding of it remains completely unclear and it continues to fail to capture my attention.

However, in an effort to not sound like a nim-com-poop, I decided to read a little bit about it. To figure it out.

And I found the “Occupy Together” website – it will tell you it is the “un”official website of the occupy movement and it will tell you this…

“People are occupying spaces in over 150 communities throughout the nation and many more worldwide. We have all become part of a network of people who are working together for something much bigger than any single person, idea, or group. The growth of this movement has been vast and rapid. As we are growing, it is important for us to be able to communicate with one another so we can support each other, share ideas, information and knowledge. This is how we will grow stronger. We have already seen a couple of locations start to form working groups taking on the large task of networking and opening up communication.

Huh? I am still not clear on what that means.

What I do know is that I met a woman who was working at Walmart today. She spends three days a week at Walmart and four days a week watching her grandchildren so that her own daughter can work.

She is thrilled to have a job. She is thrilled to work at Walmart. She even thinks her management team is fabulous. She appreciates all that the United States has given her – mostly freedom from fear.

As she piled all the crap that I could absolutely live 500 years without in to my bags, she talked of fleeing Iran and arriving in America. She didn’t resent that I was buying lollipops and fake vampire teeth. Instead, she actually thanked me for being there, “because we are nothing without our customers.”

This woman and her husband snuck out of Iran because they feared for her husband’s life. They left in a hurry and took nothing but their children with them. They left houses and cars and family. They left memories and histories.

As far as bank accounts go, they were far wealthier in Iran. As far as security goes, they are far richer here. She is content to occupy Walmart.

So, at the end of the day, I am more impressed with the woman occupying Walmart with purpose and gratitude than I am with those who are occupying Wall Street.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 10:46 am

    Christy – maybe you should be writing a book. Seriously!

  2. christy permalink
    October 26, 2011 9:23 am

    My parents had two homes paid off (no mortgage) when I lived in Korea. My father got his MBA from U.S. and got an offer as a vice president of a corporation when he decided to immigrate to US for a better life for his children. In, Korea, my parents would had comfortable life and my mom would have never had to work. Upon immigration, my dad worked at 7 Eleven, McDonald’s, and Post Office. My dad worked at Post office, shoveling snow outside the post office when needed, and my mom worked at McDonald’s, slept only 3 hours a day working full time and taking care of her children. Yet, they are forever grateful to this country for what it has offer to them – security, fairness, and opportunity to achieve dreams. To Occupy Movement, if my dad, who has an MBA from California State University can work at McDonald’s, so can you.

Trackbacks

  1. Occupy Wall Street Solutions………. « A Reason To Write

Leave a Reply

