Skip to content

The Flower Walla………….

April 19, 2010

I know I have talked about flowers on this blog. And I know I have shared lots of pictures of flowers with you. But I don’t think I have given you the skinny on the flower walla. The word walla means vendor. The flower walla sells flowers. The broom walla sells brooms. The sweeper walla sweeps the street. So now you speak a little bit of Hindi. You are very welcome. 😉

Every neighborhood seems to have at least one flower walla. This guy is in Vasant Vihar.

And these are some of his flowers.

and some more…

and some more…..

and then some more……

I don’t know why I was surprised to find so many “American” flowers in India – and by that I mean flowers that I know and love in the U.S. I am not sure what I expected – maybe tumble weeds or cactus – I have no idea. But just so you know, they have palm trees and coconut trees here too. Shocking? I know. Next thing you know they’ll have roses…….uh-oh….. it is a small world after all.

But seriously, I know I am just a country mouse on this grand big city adventure – but I did not know that flowers were universal. 😉 These flowers were not from the vendor in Vasant Vihar but I just bet he knows a guy who could easily get you these tomorrow.

And this bunch of flowers from these guys was…….wait for it…

a whopping 200 rupees or about $4 U.S. dollars.

And yep, I probably overpaid.
Of course, they don’t last long and you
simply must change the water everyday
or your house will smell like really, really old man teeth.
And you might get a few gnats if you aren’t careful –
I always shake the flowers a little to make sure nothing flies out.
But these are certainly worth (more than) the asking price!
As we like to say at A Reason To Write – they are sufficient. 😉

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 5:42 am

    Interesting. Makes me wonder if that is how they named the town of Walla Walla, Washington in the states. Have to check into that.

  2. April 20, 2010 8:48 am

    What? Paying for smelling does not fit into my “breathing” plan. 😎 I need to get over there.

  3. April 20, 2010 6:25 am

    My all time fave is the Mehrauli Flower Market (tons and tons of roses!!) … just be careful. Some of those dudes make you pay just for SMELLING the roses!

    Flowers are my guilt-less pleasure here … because they are so affordable!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Flower Walla…………. « A Reason To Write – India -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

