Skip to content

If someone had told me 2 years ago……………

April 18, 2010

That I would no longer take the expiration dates on food seriously

That I would actually ask myself “just how sick could I really get from eating this” before I popped something in my mouth and the possibility would exist that the answer just might be “very”  – and I would still eat it

That I would become a (bigger) fan of silver jewelry

That I would actually understand why tomorrow does not really mean tomorrow and would be able to explain that clearly to other people

That too many choices at the grocery store could actually be overwhelming

That the smell of Downy fabric softener could really make me homesick

That I would branch out beyond butter chicken and briyana and truly enjoy Indian food

That I would find a way to tune out the loud noises of car horns honking and would be able to concentrate even with the car swerving thru the craziest traffic I have ever seen in my life

That I would lose the fascination of seeing cows, elephants, and camels walking down the middle of the street because they have just become a very familiar sight

That I would look at people begging and hope that they did not knock on our car window – and sometimes I would hope that they would not even walk by our car window

That I would take Indians on their first trip to Old Delhi, the Jama Masjid, and Karims and that I would be able to answer a lot of the questions they would have

That I would learn how to text more quickly than my children because no one has voice mail on their phones here

That I would realize the people who work for me might be stealing from me and I would ultimately decide not to care

That I would have to get an “exception” for my children to be allowed to select plain pasta at the school cafeteria and that I would have to insist the teachers not make my children clean their plates (meaning eat all the food on their plate no matter if they say they are full or not) – and that all of this would take 5 meetings, two phone calls, and way too many emails

That I would walk into a shop to buy Nepalese singing bowls and would walk out with a whole new perspective on just about everything

That it is possible that I might know more about Indian history than I know about American history – at least the history of leadership in India

That I would have two dear friends come visit and I would get the chance to share this part of the world with them

That I would pet and get bitten by a tiger

That my blog would be featured in a newspaper article

That I would ride the overnight train

That I would easily learn to use a squat toilet without tinkling on myself

That I would insist that all of our fruits and vegetables be soaked in a bleach solution before we eat them

That I would have stood 10 feet from the Pakistani border

That I would not cook more than 3 meals for my family the entire time I have lived here (and it’s not as sad as it sounds – this does not include preparing s.o.m.e. food that does not have to be cooked – I am still capable of opening a box of cereal)

That I would not care that a man washed and ironed my underwear – even when it was pair that had a whole in it

That one day I will surely miss living here

I would never have believed them.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 7:14 am

    It’s pretty good actually. About to dig in and give it its due very soon…season 2 of the reality show is on the way!
    (-;

  2. April 19, 2010 10:57 pm

    I look at what you write and one day it is I am struggling to cope and going out to do retail therapy and the next day it is I will miss this place when I go and can really say in all sincerity that the madness of our lives is between. MM

  3. April 19, 2010 12:50 am

    Good one!

  4. April 18, 2010 10:54 pm

    Amazing post Reason2!
    I think a similar post about Japan could be a quarter the length…but just as significant. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Jennifer permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:39 am

    I told you will be missing India, even some of the things that bothered you most, when you are back in the U.S. Just check out People of Walmart and you may not want to leave!!!!

    • April 18, 2010 1:02 pm

      Sadly, I miss the people of walmart, target, costco, etc – you just don’t see some of those crazies here – and they are always good for a laugh! But I know they are waiting to make me smile……. 😉

  6. Ann permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:19 am

    Beautifully written……….If you can believe it, there are some things about India I miss even from my short visit.

  7. April 18, 2010 9:59 am

    Nice list !

    Bitten by a tiger ? For real ?
    How ? Where ? How ? Why ? When ?

    There are probably only 5 other people on the planet right now, who could make the same claim. Mighty exclusive club, that one.

    Kids having to wash their lunch-plates at school — seems like a routine, when-in-Rome-do-as-the-Romans kind of deal, if all the other kids are having to do it too. So, why the request for exemption ?

  8. April 18, 2010 7:32 am

    mmm … what a great post. I have a “what I didn’t know” post sitting in draft … but I can’t finish it because everytime I try, I get teary-bleary eyed …

    good one …

    • April 18, 2010 11:23 am

      I can’t wait to read that – I stayed away from most of the teary-eyed stuff – that is another blog post entirely. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention If someone had told me 2 years ago…………… « A Reason To Write – India -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

