Skip to content

The bowl, the bell, and the therapy…………..

April 15, 2010

If you read Sufficient, then you know I met Fateh Singh. I wonder if I am taking it too far to say he changed my life. Well, maybe – but honestly, maybe it’s not. He reminded me of a few things that I had too easily let myself forget – and he shared a few things that I might not have ever have had in perspective in the first place.  I am “one of those” people who takes things too seriously and too personally and I get “caught up” in wasting my energy in the wrong ways on the wrong people. He certainly, at the very least, changed my week – and that was a tremendous gift. Smooches Fateh Singh.

So, I am writing this post to put down another lesson he taught me – to remember not to forget – that my energy is too precious to waste on those who could care less about it anyway. And I pinky swear promise that this blog is not trying to take over where Oprah and Dr. Phil leave off – but I need to keep it all in perspective. Maybe a tiny reminder is good for all of us.

Fateh: What is the most precious thing in your life?
Me: That is a no-brainer – my family. period.
Fateh: I will prove you wrong on that one.
Me: You don’t know me well, but I wish you a big fat dose of luck with that one.
Fateh: Okay. Are you ready?
Me: Bring. it. on.
Fateh: What is the one thing you cannot live without?
Me: Again, my family. Is this “life lessons – the remedial course”?
Fateh: That is the wrong answer.
Me: How So?
Fateh: What about breath?
Me: Damn you, that is true.
Fateh: Without breath you cannot enjoy your family.
Me: yeah, yeah, yeah – note to self – do not challenge Fateh in spiritual lessons. You will win big but you will not get the answers right.
Fateh: You breathe in and out so easily that you forget you must do it. As long as you can breathe, you can enjoy the blessings of life, including your family.
Me: and without breath – not so much.
Fateh: Slowing your breath can center you – if you focus on the gift of breath – everything bothering you might seem less important.
Me: How much for the bowl, the bell, and the therapy? 😉

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 11:39 am

    WE ALWAYS MISS YOU BROTHER. 😦

    BHUPINDER SINGH HUNJAN (FB) & FAMILY

  2. Miranda permalink
    January 13, 2012 10:10 pm

    Thank You for sharing this bit of true wisdom….♥

  3. Gagandeep Bhalla permalink
    January 13, 2012 5:37 am

    God Bless the Departed Soul…Fateh Singh R.I.P 😦

  4. Gagandeep Bhalla permalink
    January 13, 2012 5:35 am

    God Bless the Departed Soul…….. Fateh Singh R.I.P.

  5. April 19, 2010 1:22 am

    yes he is!

  6. April 16, 2010 3:39 pm

    He is right on that one.

  7. April 16, 2010 6:37 am

    BUT … did you ask him about your pasta dilemma?

    I want to know what he has to say about THAT …

    • April 16, 2010 6:56 am

      He said that as long as you are breathing while you eat – plain pasta is a perfectly acceptable food choice smartarse.

  8. Mary permalink
    April 16, 2010 12:18 am

    Yep, gotta love him…he’s always right.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Turkey Day………. « A Reason To Write

Leave a Reply

