Skip to content

East meets West…………..

March 31, 2010

Lots and lots of people call India the land of extremes. Sometimes pictures explain it better than words.

This is a western woman buying t-shirts from some local Indian women in Goa. Goa is in southern India – the more conservative area of India. They did not agree on the prices and there was quite a discussion. I just sat amused as I watched East meet West. Notice how different their clothing is.

And then her friend came to help out.

Yes, I know, Sports Illustrated will not be hiring me as a swim suit model photographer any time soon. I think I was laughing too hard to properly focus. And please no comments on whether or not this woman should be wearing a thong. This post isn’t about her fashion choices. Believe me, there were worse fashion choices to be seen. I saw my first real-life man in a thong – nope, don’t e.v.e.r. need to see that again.

And then this lady gave it a try. I could not help imagine what the women were thinking as they walked away from each other.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 7:00 am

    Nope – they do not – but it was so surreal watching these women from completely different worlds interact. ;-)

  2. April 1, 2010 6:41 am

    Am sorry … but I’m giggling so hard that I can barely hold my hands steady enough to type.

    Their kids don’t go to our school, do they?

Leave a Reply

