Skip to content

Completely unrelated………….

February 1, 2010

This should be really fun. I am looking for some dream interpretation here.

I have always had really bizarre dreams. I don’t always remember them, I don’t keep a dream journal, I frankly don’t put a lot of stock in them. But last night was bizarro – and I am just sure you can all help me figure it out.

If you are familiar with Northern Virginia, you know the main highway leading into DC is 66.

Okay, so I dreamt that I had to – yes, had to, not wanted to but had to with very dire consequences if I didn’t – ride a very tall unicycle down 66. There were no cars on the road. Just me on this tall arse unicycle.  It was probably about 4 stories tall.

By way of background, I am not particularly afraid of heights. I am not completely uncoordinated. I have never ridden a unicycle (or had any desire to), and I do not have any circus performers in my family (at least not anyone who actually got paid to act like a clown).

So, I am riding this unicycle down the road and I come to the first bridge. Bridges are apparently a bitch when you are on a very tall unicycle. Can’t go under it, can’t go around it, can’t go over it. So I had to anticipate when to lower myself off the unicycle to perfectly time landing on the bridge. Lift the unicycle over the bridge. Get back on it and start again. Also not so easy.

I told my husband that this was one of the most stressful dreams I ever remember having. He kind of laughed.

Stop it.

Not you too.

It was. very. stressful.

I never fully knew what the consequences would be if I did not finish but I knew I had to do this.

So this happened for a while. I’d ride along fine and then I would get to a bridge. I maneuvered the bridges pretty great even if I do say so myself until I got to Rosslyn. It was the last bridge before DC. There was a building attached to the bridge. I landed fine. My family was there waiting.  I was very happy to see them there. And all of the sudden I got really nervous about getting back on the unicycle. I went into the building where hubby and bear tried to help me get to the stairs. But the doors were locked. Apparently, I was doing this stunt on a holiday – which explains the no cars on the road thing. But none of the rest of it makes any sense at all.

Then thankfully my daughter woke me up. So I don’t know if I finished but I woke up stressed out. I never panicked but it was insane.

Any ideas. If your best guess is that I have completely lost my mind – I  know that already. And keep it clean – remember my kids read this blog and sometimes my parents. ;-)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tottsmom permalink
    February 8, 2010 9:55 am

    Not sure why your mind pick a unicycle, but I agree with the others. Your doing something out of your comfort zone and getting around the “road blocks” of life. Hope you have a less stressful dream soon.

  2. February 6, 2010 1:34 pm

    Hey…
    That was humorous… do you believe in past lives?
    Well, you may well have been in a circus the last time around! :D
    On more serious lines, I have no idea why someone can dream of riding a unicycle. I have rode bicycles in my dream though, quite a few times.. :D

  3. February 4, 2010 11:46 pm

    Yeah, what Kali said ;) I tried to ride a unicycle a few times, and it was hard! Give me a pogo stick any day.

  4. Kali Hamlin permalink
    February 2, 2010 10:10 am

    I think the bridges represent all of the obstacles that you have overcome on your journey to and living in India. Getting almost to DC is the fact that the end of your journey is in sight – you are almost there, but not quite and will have a few challenges ahead. But you are obviously capable of handling all obstacles!!

  5. Pam permalink
    February 2, 2010 7:38 am

    O.K. I did have a unicycle as a child. It is very difficult to manuevre. I agree. My biggest feat was letting go over the mailbox, which held me steady, and making it a short distance. I was lucky to make it to the end of the road never mind all the way to D.C.
    I am not a dream expert and like yourself have never put a whole lot of stock into my dreams, but with you in India and the unicylce being a one wheeled , one person type of vehicle, I would guess that you are feeling alone and have a lot of hurdles to cross. Or Maybe Not!!

    • February 2, 2010 8:23 am

      who knew you had a unicycle – that is great – and I can imagine the mailbox would be quite intimidating – I don’t know what it all means except that I am not buying a unicycle. 8-)

Leave a Reply

