Skip to content

I wanna be an Airborne Ranger……

January 27, 2010

I went to high school in Columbus, Georgia near Fort Benning. My mom was a college professor helping many of the soldiers earn their degrees while they were completing their military training. There were lots of men in her classes (and I am pretty sure she never called any of them Blondie ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). She often came home singing this chant….

I want to be an Airborne Ranger.
I want to live the life of danger.
Blood. Guts. Sex. and Danger.
That is the life of an Airborne Ranger.

She never actually sang the 3rd and 4th lines – at least not out loud – but I included them anyhow.

It’s funny how memories can come flooding back. When we were in Bangkok, I saw this little boy and this chant ran through my head 8 million times. How adorable is he?

What do you think he wants to be when he grows up?

This guy is either flirting with me or preparing to stab me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 8:57 pm

    he is so cute – and believe me – I stepped away slowly ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. January 28, 2010 7:30 pm

    Oooops I mean the latter lol

  3. January 28, 2010 7:30 pm

    Ummm, I’m gonna go with the former: RUNNNNN! lol
    nice pics! The kid is so cute.
    I remember that song well. When I was stationed in South Carolina at Fort Jackson, we used to sang it in cadence a lot. It was one of my favorites. Thanls for the memories
    Loco

Leave a Reply

