Skip to content

Come to my window………

January 19, 2010

One of the fabulous things about living in Delhi is that you just never know what you are going to find where. Surprises lurk around every corner – some not so great – some spectacular.

I recently went to a Winter Wonderland Celebration for the kids. And there was a mela (craft fair).  And there was a guy selling these windows…

And you might be wondering if your computer monitor is crooked – probably not – I took the picture, so it might be slightly angled (we call that operator error) – and the window might just be a little off too. It’s old (at least I was told it was old) so we will give it a break. I was also told that it is from Kashmir – is it? – I will never really know. But it is all full of awesomeness. And if you ask me where it’s from, I will say – it’s really old and it’s from Kashmir. 😉

Another wonderful thing about living in India is that you rarely have to do too much for yourself. Included in the price of the window was the charge for delivery and installation. So three men came to deliver/install…

You don’t see all three of the men here because the other two were trying to figure out where to plug in the power drill that they brought. Now, I was impressed that had a power drill (a lot of work in India is done the old fashioned way – manually) and that they actually brought it with them. But I was a wee bit concerned that this is what the “plug” looked like.

I take full credit for the blur in this photo. You can bet your boots this made me a little shaky. Two exposed wires jammed into the outlet. It rocked to the core one of my basic parenting principles – you don’t stick metal into an outlet – especially live wires with a power tool attached to them. But all is well and the window is hung.

Some of my nosier readers will want to know how much this window was – about $200. That includes finding it, restoring it, delivering it, and risking life and limb to install it.  And please don’t bother telling me if I overpaid for it (I am sure I paid too much, although the shop owner would surely adamantly argue otherwise) – I think you only over pay if you don’t think what you got was worth the price you paid – I love this window and am so happy to have it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 6:36 pm

    Yes, those exposed wires would have given me considerable pause. A death is too high a price for windows. But fortuntely all went well and the windows are indeed awesome. Also I like that rationale: if I think it was worth the price then it was worth the price. gotta remember that. (-:

    • January 21, 2010 3:02 am

      you would be amazed how much is loosey goosey here – this is the least of it – at least most of the wires were insulated – yep, if you think you got what you paid for, then you did…..

  2. January 19, 2010 4:59 pm

    Well worth the price! Beautiful window would have cost a fortune in the States.

    • January 21, 2010 3:01 am

      I agree! And you know what you are talking about so that makes me happy, happy!

  3. Tottsmom permalink
    January 19, 2010 10:58 am

    Ok, I’m with you on the power thing. But the good news is they did not burn down the house. I love the window! and I agree with the price, even if you could find something sooo cool here in the states, it would not be $200, that’s what it would cost to have it installed. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Ode to an Indian Urn…… « A Reason To Write – India

Leave a Reply

