Skip to content

Tastes like chicken…………

January 13, 2010

We don’t eat a lot of any street food in Delhi, so I was very surprised when my husband went all “game on” over the street food in Thailand. There seems to be more of it in Thailand, especially Bangkok, and he wanted to try some new things. I offered to take pictures – giving me the “oh, I would love to, but I don’t want to get anything on the camera” excuse. He did not eat all of the things you will see pictured, but he did eat chicken butt. I cannot find the picture of that. But here is one of hubby eating “canal” food. A lady on a boat will pull up to your boat and sell you some bbq chicken. And you will suspend your reality and believe it is chicken. Fascinating.

Number one hubby also ate crocodile – at the crocodile show.

Yes, you read that right – he ate crocodile at the crocodile show. Maybe it is just me, but I think there is something fundamentally wrong with eating crocodile at the crocodile show right in front of the c.r.o.c.o.d.i.l.e.s. Especially when one of your fellow humans is about to do this. No wonder they say revenge is sweet.

I personally have a v.e.r.y. hard time eating anything that is looking at me.

These were some of the biggest shrimp I have ever seen. In Asia, they are called prawns, which makes perfect sense because there is nothing “shrimpy” about them. And, you are right, they don’t look as appetizing before they are “prepared”.

I don’t know if these are chicken feet or octopus. I am thinking octopus but really, it could go either way. And, nope, did not try.

I am always happy to find something recognizable that is not staring at me. These strawberries looked delish.

These little gems are called Century Eggs. Yes, I completely agree – eggs are not supposed to look like that. No, we did not try them. Because of the way these eggs smell, there is a myth that they are soaked in horse urine. Yeah, that’s about all I need to know about them. This is what century eggs look like in a buffet at a hotel.

And this is what they look like on the street. I am off the school of thought that both of these are a big fat pass.

Not sure what some of these next things are … if you know, please enlighten us all….

(and yes, I am aware that there is a sign in this picture that probably tells me exactly what this is – but I have this little obstacle called “I can’t read Thai” – so I still have no idea what it is – they look like mini lunch bags though)

This is honestly a little more my speed – cucumbers.

We tried this coconut concoction when we were in Singapore. It was not all it was cracked  up to be.

I am so sorry – was that a little corny?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 6:30 pm

    I see you got the ansewer to the raw pepper. I like them as snaks or mixed in with sour creem as dip.

    EWian

  2. January 15, 2010 2:32 am

    Century eggs, huh…I’d have to pass, too. The strawberries look so pretty!

  3. January 13, 2010 5:32 pm

    Don’t think I’ve commented before, though I read your blog often – the little green bunches are raw peppercorns – they taste wonderful when pickled in lemon juice.

    Right above the cucumbers is jackfruit – it can be an acquired taste due to its pungent smell, though the fruit itself is very sweet.

    The thing that looks like a giant egg poacher, with white batter in it, looks very similar to the idiappams from S.India – or idlis…check with a local (Delhi-local) S.Indian restaurant.

    • January 14, 2010 4:00 am

      welcome and thanks for the info! raw peppercorns – I would have never guessed that – very cool! I actually tried the jackfruit – I didn’t really care for it – it was very bland so maybe the piece I tried was not really ripe yet – it looked amazing though.

  4. January 13, 2010 11:52 am

    Interesting.

    • January 14, 2010 3:58 am

      very interesting! for some reason your comment went into moderation – which is bizarre – sorry it took a little bit for me to see it there.

  5. Tottsmom permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:37 am

    Thanks for the pictures. My middle daughter is doing a study of Thialand and had a report and a diorama due today. It was cool to be able to share your post with her. Thanks for the homework help!!

Leave a Reply

