Skip to content

Seriously, feet and facebook………..

December 13, 2009

I try not to take myself too seriously. I see this blog as more therapeutic than a quick road to riches. And until a book publisher contacts me (anyone, anyone,  Bueller, Bueller), that is what I will continue to do. But, sometimes I do find myself wondering why I am doing this and who is really reading it anyway. I’ll admit my children sometimes try to read it over my shoulder (while I am writing of course), which, while endearing, ends up being mostly annoying  because it is hard to write and answer a million questions at the same time.  And “wait, go back” can kick a ingenious writing idea right out of your head faster than you can say blog post. Anyblog they are supposed to wait and read it when I am dead and gone so that they can marvel at how fantastic we were to drag them all over the world and how wonderfully I captured our memories. And number one hubby comes home every night and says, “I saw your blog today……” and comments on what he read. However, most of my readers remain nameless and faceless. There was even once a commenter whose name was “Can I please remain Unknown”. Pretty funny.

Luckily, I can answer some of those probing questions about why and where my readers come here by myself. (Hello Vietnam!) I get wonderful emails about my blog and lots of positive feedback from friends and readers. And, as the owner of this blog, I can see the key words that people use to find my blog on the great blogosphere. Some of those key word searches make me laugh and many of them make me wonder just what in the heck people are really looking for – and, more to the point,  w.h.y. they are looking for w.h.a.t. they are looking for. Some of you really should be embarrassed. ;-)

Some bloggers will use these key words to their huge advantage to attract more hits on their blog. Throw in a couple of “trashy” words and your blog stats head up, up, up. That ticker ticks away higher and higher reader counts. (Of course, I am not talking about my blog friends – most of them write what they want and could give a rat’s arse about how many people read it.)

I try to be careful not to use too many “inappropriate words”. Remember my children sometimes read this over my shoulder. I try not to use words that will attract the attention of  Jerry Springer, ped*philes, terr*rists, or hubby’s old girlfriends. So, my stats roll slowly along. They are crawling at a good pace – we just hit over 70,000 together. Yippee!

Today, though, I am back to wondering if my blog has real appeal. As I travel the world and capture our experiences and impressions, my two most popular posts are about feet and facebook. Not poverty, not the Taj Mahal, not parenting (although it might be good that people are not seeking parenting advice here), not even living abroad, but feet and facebook. Wow. I may need to start trash talking. Seriously………..

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 5:54 pm

    I happen to find you very appealing! Oh, and your blog is okay, too ;)

    I never check my stats, but I love checking the search words and referrals, because, lets’ face it, there are some incredible weirdos and bad spellers to laugh at and make fun of on your blog. Of course, I talk trash on my blog, but that’s just how I talk ;)

  2. December 18, 2009 9:57 am

    Yes, your blog does have real appeal. I wouldn’t be lurking if it didn’t!

  3. babaesha permalink
    December 14, 2009 11:13 pm

    i am really enjoying reading your blog – don’t stop writing

    • December 14, 2009 11:32 pm

      aw shucks – thanks – don’t worry – I amuse myself (if no one else) too much to give it up!

  4. December 14, 2009 2:38 pm

    I find it all incredibly interesting. I’ve always wanted to go to India, so I’m sort of living vicariously here. =)

  5. Tottsmom permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:27 pm

    I read it all and enjoy it all. Keep it up. and Merry Christmas.

    • December 14, 2009 11:31 pm

      Merry Christmas and thanks! Not only do you read, but you comment too – smooches!

  6. Nancy permalink
    December 14, 2009 12:25 pm

    Saw the movie Julie and Julia the other day. Have you seen that? Think you’d appreciate it. Thought about you as I watched the Julia character enter the world of blogging. Now I’m wondering….do you have a way to get movies there? Is that a stupid question? :)

    • December 14, 2009 11:30 pm

      I have heard that is good – a friend actually gave it to me on CD – I think I will watch it on one of my long flights coming up. I have heard it is good. There are movie theaters here with lots of American films showing – but we never went to the movies in the states – so we don’t go here either – if you are boring at home, you will probably be boring abroad. 8-)

  7. December 14, 2009 2:23 am

    a while back I blogged for money – and used every key word that would draw attention – for whatever it was I was selling at the time.

    Anyway, I no longer blog for money…but that blog still gets hits (I still own the domain)…it also gets a lot of spam comments. yay! grumbles

    One of my high hits was -fever blisters-! LOL

    • December 14, 2009 11:29 pm

      I would love to blog for money – but no one has offered to pay anything yet – hee hee

Leave a Reply

