Skip to content

The Statues of Singapore……

December 8, 2009

Singapore has some tres cool statues – the most famous one is the MerLion – it is a fish mixed with a Lion. According to Wikipedia, “the Merlion is an imaginary creature with the head of a lion and the body of a fish. It combines ‘mer’ meaning sea and lion. The fish body comes from Singapore’s ancient name back when it was a fishing village – temasek, meaning sea town. The lion head represents Singapore’s original name – singapura, meaning lion city.”

Did I get a picture of it? Well, ummm, yeah, I think my dog ate it. Somehow we managed to miss it but here are some of my favorites………..

I am not sure if that is a man squished beneath her or a blanket – but either way I love this one!

You have seen these two before – but they are among my favs – so you get to see them again ….. lucky you. 😉

And this just made me laugh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 10:37 am

    I think it’s a man and not a blanket!

  2. December 9, 2009 1:09 pm

    Some weird but very interesting. Thanks.

  3. Nancy permalink
    December 9, 2009 11:32 am

    OK..that’s it. I’m adding Singapore to my list of places to visit before I die.

  4. December 9, 2009 1:24 am

    water forecasting stone?? that is funny! very interesting statues abound!!

Trackbacks

  1. NYC4 – The statues of New York City…. « A Reason To Write

Leave a Reply

