Skip to content

Swimming with the fishes (and sharks)…….

December 6, 2009

You might remember that we just got back from a vacation in Singapore and that I said there was so much to do. I think we did just about everything – except apparently the slingshot. Dang it – somehow I just did not know about that one. One of the first things we did was visit the aquarium.

In a weak parenting moment, I agreed with my husband that it would be a great experience for him, Bear, and Flower to swim with the sharks in the aquarium – Angel and I decided that they really should have someone taking pictures of their adventure to document it for the ages (safely from outside the tank) so we did not join in on this one…

Yes, that would be my family petting a shark. Thankfully it was a shark with smallish mouth.

And, not just sharks, but eels too. Goody.

Oh yeah and rays. The bubbles coming out of my sons regulator show that it surprised him just a tad to have this ray come swimming right by him.

And this is my daughter telling me to get used to holding my breath while she tries new adventures. Bear and Hubby have the same opinion.

Angel and I snorkeled. I probably have not told you how much I do not like fish. And, in particular,  how much I do not like big fish. And how much I do not like big fish swimming around me. Oh, and they gave us raw fish and shrimp to feed the very big fish so they would come even closer to us. That was simply brilliant. And they let us squeeze into put on these wet suits. Yes, I love my daughter very much and she had a great time.  Actually, it was fun – except for the whole very big fish thing – I did get to pet sting rays. Very cool!

Angel kept asking me why I was not putting my head underwater to see all the really big fish. I simply explained to her that I was having so much fun watching her that I did not need to see the fish. Wink. Wink.

The whole aquarium was really pretty cool. Seahorses always capture my attention.

And jellyfish – especially very cool jellyfish that change colors with the light – especially very cool jellyfish that are locked away in a tank and cannot possibly sting you.

This guy was unusual.

And talk about crabby. Did they really need to combine a spider and a crab? He was pretty dang big too.

There was also a seal show. What’s not to love about a seal show? It was fab.

We are big fans of turtles of all shapes and sizes.

So, don’t miss the aquarium if you venture out to Singapore!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 8:32 pm

    Spectacular! Absolutely amazing pics!
    Now that’s an aquarium!

  2. Nancy permalink
    December 7, 2009 4:29 pm

    What a wonderful adventure you are having! See…you did do the right thing! :)

  3. December 7, 2009 1:14 pm

    Very nice pics and an exciting adventure. I don’t think I would be brave enough to go down there myself.

    • December 7, 2009 9:34 pm

      Yeah – I have a hard time with the breathing underwater thing – and then there are the really big fish 8-)

Trackbacks

  1. Twitted by areasontowrite

Leave a Reply

