Skip to content

Murphy’s Law………

September 21, 2009

I know, I know. I have been M.I.A.  Please forgive me.

Number One Hubby went out of town last week – so you know what that means, right? Right.

Kids got sick and I had the busiest week I have had in India since I have been here.

So, M.I.A. means Mother in Action.

While I was wallowing in the abyss of runny noses, doctors visits, and sleepless nights, number one hubby went to the U.S. and had slurpees and homemade breakfast. He ate authentic Mexican food with most of our family and drove his own car. It is fall in Virginia, so he also saw leaves changing and went outside without dripping sweat. He won’t admit it – but I think he actually had a cheeseburger, too. Bastard.

Do I sound a wee bit bitter?

I don’t mean to. Really, I don’t. I am not bitter. Because number one hubby is a smart hubby too. He brought back my favorite brand of microwave popcorn and gummy bears and teddy grahams and real American marshmallows. Plus he flew on 3 red-eye flights in 6 days. All the while, making sure our son’s hershey kisses didn’t melt. He had big tasks at hand and he skillfully maneuvered thru all of them.

But it was an insane week. I have so much to tell you I hardly know where to begin. But this week is crazy too. Now, I am sick – see – Murphy’s Law in full force- and have w.a.y. t.o.o. m.u.c.h. going on. This week might be sparse too. But I will be back with some amazing stories! I promise! But before I go (again), here is a quick story.

Just so you can appreciate the chaos of last week – here is a sampling of how the week went. We have a fabulous doctor – if you live in Delhi and need a good family doctor – email me. She is GREAT. Bear started off the week with a double ear infection. So our great doctor prescribed antibiotics. I am very careful here where I get my medicine. So, I sent my driver with the prescription to the Apollo hospital pharmacy to get the antibiotic and ear drops. It is not exactly around the corner. It took him (quite) a while.

He came back with the medicine. Perfect. I was very thankful I did not have to sit in traffic. Bear could come home and relax and rest. However, there was exactly enough medicine for one and a half days. Bear just happened to need 10 days worth. Remember, I am no math major – but that does not a.d.d. u.p. – not even with a calculator.

So the next day, I sent the driver back with the same prescription to get more. Yes, you read that right. I got to keep the prescription. They do not take it at the pharmacy. Again, thankful I do not have to sit in traffic. Again, not enough medicine comes home. I know, I know – if it happens once, shame on them – if it happens twice – shame on me. Shame on me.

Poor Kahn, back again – in traffic – to the pharmacy. This time with very specific instructions to get enough medicine.

As I am sure you can tell, this didn’t really mess up my week at all. It was poor Kahn who went back and forth in traffic. But it is an example of how difficult it can be to accomplish small tasks here. I am also amazed by how the pharmacies work in India. I had the same prescription filled three different times. And, truth be told, I probably didn’t even need a prescription. You can get almost any medication you want here – with or without doctors orders.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 10:30 am

    Get well soon!

  2. September 23, 2009 5:37 am

    Hi Reason2

    MIA hilarious
    You should call this post, “The Wrath of Kahn / Khan” because he must have been getting a wee bit tight I bet
    Get well soon

    • September 29, 2009 2:29 am

      he is really great and just says “yes ma’am” and off he goes. I really don’t ask him to run errands very often – but when I had a sick boy at home, I thought it was prudent to use (and then reuse) the resources available to me 🙂

  3. Mary permalink
    September 22, 2009 4:12 pm

    Gosh next time call me I have a fabulous chemist in town who will even deliver to you. He is very trustworthy, recommended by all the embassys. Remind me and I will hook you up. Even the embassys don’t recommend Appolo anymore. Sorry you had such a hecktic week. Feel better soon!!!

  4. September 22, 2009 2:49 pm

    I’m curious – is your driver’s name actually Kahn, or are you simply misspelling Khan? 🙂

    • September 29, 2009 2:28 am

      probably misspelling it – I have never actually seen it written down – I will have to check on that…..

  5. September 22, 2009 11:36 am

    Hope everyone is feeling better very quickly! That’s so interesting about the medicine. Why in the world they wouldn’t give you the full 10 days worth though, especially the second time he showed up. I’d have been pulling out my hair. I guess patience is a virtue. 🙂

  6. Leadfoot permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:38 am

    Call me with what I can do to help. I can hook you up with a cheeseburger if necessary.

  7. Tottsmom permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:24 am

    Sorry to hear you are under the weather. I was a little worried that you were MIA for pretty much this exact reason. Hope all are on the mend. Can’t wait for the stories. Now I’m off to be a Mentor MoM with MOPS(Mothers of Pre-schoolers). lol they seem to overlook the fact that I still qualify to be a MOP, must be the white hair.

    • September 29, 2009 2:26 am

      Mothers instinct – you had it pegged! How is all the move stuff going?

      • Tottsmom permalink
        October 1, 2009 9:26 am

        The company in Atlanta is still in the picture. I’m hoping to know by next week if it is a go or not. So we won’t be having the grand adventure of moving to India, but there will be a move. I’m going to miss the desert. We’ve been in the same house for 15 years, so I’m not looking forward to packing up everything, but it will give me a good excuse to get rid of a lot of stuff. Today is a beautiful fall day. Nice and cool. Makes me want to wrap up in a blanket and have tea on the patio and read a good book. Ok, back to reality, gotta get the kids off to school. Have a great day.

  8. Jen G permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:02 am

    Are you sure you’re not in Mexico? Sorry to hear about the ill. Lots of stuff going around the schools here too. At least we got the H1N1 out of the way in the spring.

Leave a Reply

