Skip to content

Second Wind…………..

September 14, 2009

You might recall that I have promised myself that I would walk a few times a week and that I would be better about taking vitamins. Well, I have been walking a few times a week. I’ll get to the vitamins next week. Hopefully.

Being in India has given me more time to walk. And there is a lovely park right across from our house with a path. A small path – but luckily, I am not that ambitious.

But I do value time management – so I was thinking, if I ran a little bit, I could get done faster.

Great idea, I agree. So I tried jogging. Well, you have to loosen your definition of jogging a bit – to simply walking (a little) faster and managing to not fall down.

Now, I have heard many of my dear friends praise running. It’s faster. It’s a better work out. And when you hit that second wind, you can go on forever.

Really?

I mean, really?

The only second wind I am going to get is when the ambulance pulls up and the emergency technician gives me CPR. Seriously, I think I need to focus more on the vitamins.

I did hear about another weight loss concept called “eating less”. I am not really sure I am clear on what that means but I might just have to try it.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 8:24 am

    Hope the running and vitamins haven’t done you in!

  2. Leadfoot permalink
    September 19, 2009 4:44 am

    If I run for you, will you take my vitamins for me? I hate those things but love the running.

  3. September 17, 2009 11:52 am

    Girl, I hate running!!! I hate not eating what I want much more, however, so I jog a bit with a miserable pout on my face.

  4. Tottsmom permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:17 am

    Your so funny! Before our summer of “a series of unfortunate events” started. I had started “running”. Since my hubby and kiddos get up at 5:30am and put in 3 to 5 miles a day, I thought I might try it. It was an easy start up kinda thing. Instead of going out and trying to run a mile it started with “run one minute, walk three, reapeat 4 times”. This was for the first week. Each week you ran a little more and walked a little less. I was doing great. Now that I have to start over, I’m not so enthused. I tried the eating less just last week, and ended up gaining 4 pounds, go figure! Good luck in you heathy endevors. I’ll be glad to be your moral support!

  5. Girlsmom permalink
    September 15, 2009 10:11 am

    Eating less sounds good–but they are called comfort foods for a reason–my friend who is far from many of her comfort zones. Good luck, and I do mean that sincerely.

  6. September 15, 2009 8:14 am

    “Eating less” is an approach to weight loss? Interesting.

  7. September 15, 2009 3:18 am

    maybe try eating 5-6 times a day 🙂 so says these:
    http://losing-bodyfat.com/eatmore.html
    http://www.women-workout-routines.com/eating-5-times-a-day.html

    i wonder how many theories all the time contradict each other…there is no end 🙂

  8. September 15, 2009 12:38 am

    You crack me up. Second winds are a beautiful thing … but so is drinking coffee and eating punkin’ pie! It’s all about balance …. 🙂

    • September 15, 2009 1:05 am

      So you are one of those second wind people ğŸ˜Ž I would have guessed that. I think I’ll sit and drink dt. coke and eat pie while you run – how’s that. hee hee

Leave a Reply

