Skip to content

It only took me 9 months to try it……

September 11, 2009

Street food in Delhi is a very tricky thing. A lot of it looks fantastic – but if you have ever experienced Delhi Belly, you are what we would call l.e.e.r.y.

The general rules are:

Never buy water unless you are v.e.r.y. sure it is in a new and never been opened bottle
Stay away from anything raw – including veggies
Leafy foods like lettuce and hard-to-clean foods like broccoli – don’t even bother
Anything cooked in (very) hot oil might be okay, but be sure it is very recently cooked
Meat might be a risk – even cooked
Suspend your expectation of cleanliness
Flies might be a garnish – just consider them protein.

Even given all of that, it is hard not to be tempted. Even as a not very adventurous eater, I have been curious.

So, I finally did it – with the encouragement of some friends.

DSC01755

This guy makes cookies. They are in a pan under this container of coal.

DSC01758

I asked him to take the coal off so I could get a picture of the cookies baking. He looked at me like I was such a rookie. He shrugged his shoulders as if to say “don’t you know, you never open a hot oven while baking something in it?” But he did it – just so you could see. They were yummy. Just like a sugar cookie. Watch out Emeril Legasse and Martha Stewart.

DSC01757

10 Comments leave one →
  1. N S permalink
    February 6, 2010 3:58 am

    Man oh man, somebody get me this, I miss it so much 😦

  2. N S permalink
    February 6, 2010 3:56 am

    Surprising u did not tell the name of the cookie! Well for the benefit of the readers its called “Naan Khatai” and here’s a link to its recipe! http://www.manjulaskitchen.com/2008/09/30/nan-khatai/

    PS I have no affiliation with above website, tho manjula has some great recipes which has saved this Delhi bachelor boy a lot of times 😉

  3. jayz permalink
    September 15, 2009 3:53 pm

    I bumped on to this site today and have been reading the posts one after another…an Indian staying in Jamaica right now…been to Delhi a couple of times and I must tell you Delhi is the place to be if you want to try the best Indian food. Of course, if you are a non-veg food-lover, Kashmiri cuisine is a delight.

  4. September 14, 2009 3:07 pm

    Well, baby steps, my friend. I’m afraid I’d end up getting sick, because I love adventures that involve food, especially with the Indian spices!!

  5. September 13, 2009 4:26 am

    nice post .. and these cookies seem to be a delhi tradition, never saw them in Rajasthan. Also, a great blog ..

  6. j.georgia england permalink
    September 11, 2009 2:57 pm

    my fav street food only comes out in the winter…it’s a roasted hot potato garnished with lime juice and masala powder. Not to be missed!!!!

  7. Kirk Childress permalink
    September 11, 2009 9:21 am

    Here’s my take after having lived in Africa…… you can only be so careful… sooner or later you’re going to be eating at someone’s house and can’t refuse the drink with ice cubes made from the tap… at some point you’re gonna get sick. so, yes, be careful. but don’t miss out on the fab foods on the street and elsewhere. just know that at some point you’ll probably spend a weekend over the toilet. and you’ll be stronger for it… and, oh, yes, eat yogurt. every day. seriously, it helps populate your system with local fauna that will combat the icklies.

  8. September 11, 2009 7:21 am

    Sounds tasty to me!

  9. September 11, 2009 5:44 am

    sigh I so miss those cookies… grown up eating them 🙂

    i so miss them here

    and delhi belly he he I agree but the street food is the most yum food in delhi

  10. Mary permalink
    September 11, 2009 5:11 am

    Four years and I still haven’t tried it. What a wimp I am!! Mary

Leave a Reply

