Skip to content

Rock on………….

September 10, 2009

Did you know there was a Hard Rock Cafe in Delhi? Me either – until now. YAHOOO!

DSC01634

We went with some friends and had real nachos

DSC01644

and potato skins

DSC01645

And what we had all gone there to try – hamburgers.

The menu described a hamburger with your choice of 4 slices of cheese.

Now we’re talking! When the waiter came over, I asked what my choices were.

Cheddar.

And?

Cheddar.

The menu says “choice of cheeses”. See there is an “s”on the end. That means more than one choice, right?

Yes, cheddar.

Okay, I will have cheddar. All four slices of it.

DSC01650

I did not think the burger was that amazing – I am partial to Five Guys – but everyone else thoroughly enjoyed theirs. I did, however, nearly lick the plate of potato skins clean. Everyone living here will want to know if this is a “real” burger. I don’t know. It depends on who you ask and what your definition of a “real” burger is.

Also on the menu is cheesecake. The cheesecake I have had in India isn’t exactly what I am used to. But you can bet your grahamcracker crust that I am going back to try it. Next time I won’t waste so much stomach room on the hamburger. It will be appetizers and desserts for me. And, yes, I meant those to be plural.

I usually look for the lessons in life – and here is what I learned at Hard Rock:

It is not a good idea to wear pants that fit just right when going to eat yourself silly. Baggy pants with string waistband strongly encouraged – accompanied by a shirt that does not need to be tucked in.

Oh yeah, and there was also this:

DSC01638

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 2:03 am

    Aaaahhhh and there is one in Mumbai too! Potato skins are also my favourite stuff there and I found hamburgers to be decent enough 🙂 They actually make it medium rare if ask for it 🙂 Cocktails not so great, but what I was curious to know is do the waiters also do YMCA dance in Delhi’s HRC??????

    • September 11, 2009 3:25 am

      YEah for Mumbai! I don’t think I could eat meat medium rare so I will trust you on that one! 😎 I will ask the waiters to do that next time!

  2. deewane permalink
    September 10, 2009 11:49 am

    ok if you are a cheesecake fan then you have to try the ones at India Habitat Centre- awesome awesome stuff. There was another place in/near Lajpat Nagar (I think!! I am very geographically challenged) called- Big Chill, I remember going straight from my dentist’s appointment (3 cavities) to Big chill to get a cheesecake, raspberry topping — heaven!!! (me thinks they have since changed the name, though why they would do that is beyond me. The place was HUGELY popular. But I hope the menu remained the same *fingers crossed*)

    • September 11, 2009 3:24 am

      I think there is a Big Chill in Khan Market – I will have to check i tout!

  3. September 10, 2009 11:46 am

    I am an appetizer/dessert eater too. Is it just me, or do most restaurants have much better food in the apps and desserts than the entrees? I think it’s to make you want to order all three of them. I’m on to them though, and I often skip the entree. Cheaper too.

  4. Bee permalink
    September 10, 2009 10:54 am

    There is a Red RObin chain too..exactly the same setting…

  5. September 10, 2009 5:54 am

    oh yes one of my fav joints to hang out with friends when i am visiting…

    if i knew u dont know I would have told 🙂 hehe

  6. Mary permalink
    September 10, 2009 4:05 am

    I think the Hard Rock is one of the best things to happen in Delhi in the 4+ years I have been here!! My son who claims to hate potatoes LOVES the potato skins there!! He also found his love of Cheesecake there…maybe you should go together…LOL!! Mary

    • September 10, 2009 6:18 am

      I think it is great and I am glad your son likes the cheesecake – I would be happy to share a slice with him 😎

Leave a Reply

