Skip to content

Boy in the Mirror……….

September 9, 2009

When I was on the Salaam Baalak Trust Walk, I took several pictures of children. I always asked them first and always showed them the picture I had taken on my camera’s screen. They seem to really enjoy seeing themselves.  It seemed that some of them were used to having their pictures taken. They posed and smiled and had fun with it.

This boy surprised me. I asked him if it was alright if I took his picture. Okay, I motioned to him – motioned to the camera  – he motioned to me – and motioned to my camera – I smiled – he smiled – and he shook his head “yes”.

Then he got “ready”. He placed his hands gently in his lap, straightened his back, and then, closed his eyes.

Huh? That’s what I thought too.

So I waited a minute. But no – he meant to close his eyes – so he sat and waited very patiently for me.

Okay, I went with it and took the picture. He heard the click of the camera and opened his eyes.

Then he looked at the camera screen. He seemed very pleased with himself and his picture. I wonder if he wanted to know what he looked like with his eyes closed. You can’t exactly see that by looking in a mirror.

DSC01566

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 3:35 am

    This is very sweet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

