Skip to content

On parade…………

September 6, 2009

I was with a group of American ladies walking thru the streets of Delhi and we came across a group of Indian women walking through the streets of Delhi. It was a funny moment as we passed each other. You will see from the pictures the vast array of fabrics that Indian women wear. They are just stunning – the women and the clothes they wear. I have never seen so many women walking together at one time and it seemed like a parade. Surely, they felt bad for us in our drab clothing – I am sure they wondered why we looked like we were melting in the heat that we just cannot get used to. I am sure we made some connection over estrogen, comfortable shoes, and the universal truths of womanhood on a very esoteric level but I am not poetic enough to put words to that today. Really, we were all giggling like little school girls. It was a cool experience.

Many of the women motioned to us to please take their picture. It really is too bad that they have absolutely no idea that people all across the world will smile today because of them…

DSC01573

DSC01575

DSC01574

DSC01571

DSC01576

DSC01577

DSC01580

DSC01584

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 4:15 pm

    How lovely! That must have been a great experience.

  2. Tottsmom permalink
    September 6, 2009 10:49 am

    Here comes a totally of the wall comment. Did you notice the realitive skinnyness (I know, not a word) of most of them. They all look wonderful. And the fabrics are so vibrant. I think I could embrace a place where styles don’t change from one moment to the next.

  3. Bee permalink
    September 6, 2009 8:59 am

    ARTW;
    First of all, I love these pics. Your complaint of seeing men all over the place is over now! You saw enough women for the day!

    Secondly, my most favorite pic is where you are saying namastay to them. So cute….

    • September 6, 2009 9:25 am

      Hey Bee – uh, oh – I don’t complain that I only see men around – I see women everywhere I go – just not too many in Old Delhi. It doesn’t bother me a bit – it is what it is and it’s probably not going to change. And, I am behind the camera – those are my dear friends. 😎 Aren’t the pictures fabuloso (even if I do say so myself)???

  4. Kirk Childress permalink
    September 6, 2009 4:07 am

    These are truly great pictures…. it’s a shame we don’t know what [if any, i guess] the occasion was. As a textiles artist, I love sari fabrics. we love to go shopping in the indian fabric stores here in Houston.

    • September 6, 2009 9:23 am

      Hey Kirk – you would love, love, love all the fabrics here! Have you made any quilts from the Indian fabrics you have found?

Leave a Reply

