Skip to content

Old Delhi in three parts – part one, the food…………..

August 31, 2009

Old Delhi is an fascinating place. A lot of expats are nervous about going there. At first glance, it is crowded and dirty and filled mostly with men. At a second glance, it is simply more crowded and dirtier than I am used to and still filled mostly with men. But, it’s unnecessary to be nervous. You just take the same precautions you would in any crowded area. And be prepared to shake your comfort zone up a bit. However, you will certainly walk away with great stories of interesting people.

Old Delhi is jam packed with not only people but also Indian history and culture. Please feel free to correct anything I get wrong – but from what I understand – it is mostly a Muslim community. Old Delhi was the capital of the Mughals until the end of the Mughal dynasty. It is called Shajahanabad and is home to the Red Fort. Shajahan is the man who had the Taj Mahal built.

We were in Old Delhi during the Muslim holiday called Ramadan. Many times during our visit, there were calls to prayer. Hubby got some of that on video on his phone, but I cannot seem to upload it. I will work on that as it was really amazing. The wailing and peaceful movement to the temple.

Everywhere you go in Delhi, there is food available on the street. Honestly, I have not tried true “street food” but I love the way it looks. Anyone who knows what any of this is, please feel free to tell us!

DSC01374

I believe these are like vermicelli noodles.

DSC01376

These I would definitely eat. They looked so yummy!

DSC01379

This one looks like coconut and all kinds of nuts – what it tastes like, I don’t know.

DSC01380

I was told this is an “acquired” taste.

DSC01412

This one also looked appealing – it was corn on the cob.

DSC01411

I have more pictures that I will share tomorrow. Have a great day/night!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Animesh Das permalink
    July 15, 2010 1:36 am

    The first one in the pictures are called Pakoras(Fried Fritters) they are mixture of different veggies like the green ones are spinach ones, red ones are mashed potatoes and rectangular ones are made of cottage cheese mixed with gram flour and fried deep

    This year the ramadan will be from 10th August probably I will go there and click more pics for adding in your albums

    Animesh

  2. September 2, 2009 8:25 pm

    It’s interesting how familiar the food looks to those of us not from America. Most of the street food reminded me of exactly what I see during Ramadan in Mombasa, Kenya.

    The first thing, which someone described as “fritters” or Pakora’s are also known as bajia’s in Kenya. They’re delicious. Yes, made with gram flour and sometimes flavored with cilantro.

    Didn’t see samosas and kebabs – those are other famous dishes you see during ramadan.

  3. Maggie permalink
    September 1, 2009 10:31 am

    Hey! I love the pics. Reminds me of the old Iranian bazarres. Do try street food, you’ll find at least a few things you love. As long as you can overlook the not-so-sanitary methods of preparation and smile at the kid selling it, you’re good to go. The nut mixtures (either served raw or steeped in water) are very common in asian and middle eastern homes. It can be an appetizer, childrens’ snack, side dish, desert, fancy stuff you serve your guests…and its all very big during Ramadan and other religious holidays.
    I love this, send more.

  4. September 1, 2009 9:28 am

    The nuts I’ve found so far have been DIVINE. Melt in your mouth. The corn …. being a Nebraska girl … has been a bit tough, but I’ll still keep trying it …definitely a cheap snack! Cool pics.

  5. deewane permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:16 pm

    Yay first one to comment (twitter rocks :P). I have NEVER been to Old Delhi (I am a disgrace, I might as well been born in Connecticut!). Now for some answers, the first thing seems like ‘pakoda’ i.e. fritters, only made with gram flour instead of All purpose; the second is vermicelli noddles, except finer strands and when prepared authentically, are OUT OF THIS WORLD (and I’ll always be sorry that Mom doesn’t know how to make it:( ; the coconut + other nut mixture is just that, a mix (since during ramdan you are supposed to eat only once a day, before day-break, people tank up on nuts n stuff, basically something substantial to keep them going for the next 24 hours, also the mix could be used as garnish, I guess easier than putting each thing in separately; Yes you would have to develop a taste for ‘paan’ i.e. thinga-ma-jigs wrapped up in beetle leaf, I hate it, I ALWAYS try it, and I always hate it (my Nanna is addicted though); and last but oh so not the least, the roasted corn, with lemon slice rubbed all over it, and spicy chaat powder sprinkled on top, it might easily qualify as the best thing to nibble on ever 🙂
    Waiting for more pics!

    • August 31, 2009 11:55 pm

      Hey – maybe I will take you when you come home – won’t that be something? A firangi showing a hometown girl around Old Delhi. I only know how to get to a few hot spots but a couple places for the first trip is good enough. 😎 And I love to be the first to comment too!

Leave a Reply

