Skip to content

a little help please………

August 24, 2009

I was shopping in Spencers yesterday. (For those of you not familiar with Spencers, it is an actual store – not a market – it’s similar enough to Target in the U.S.) I went to the wine section and asked about some wines.

I am not a red wine drinker, so I simply looked for the American brand. Cheating, sure. Easier, absolutely. I found Gallo. (For those of you not familiar with Gallo wine, it’s kind of the bottom of the barrel of wines – it’s similar enough to mud – yummy mud, but mud nonetheless.) Gallo is very inexpensive in the U.S. This bottle would probably be about $4 in the States. When the guy told me it was 1400 rupees, I almost fell over. Yes, you did the math right, that is about $28. Not happening. I’ll stomp my own grapes before I will pay that much for Gallo wine.

No thanks, I’ll find something else. I did and it was 1/2 the price and a (much) better wine.

I asked for some other wines too. So I ended up with about 15 bottles of wine. No – I am not a whino – but going to Spencers in pretty much an all-day affair – so I stock up.

The wine guy sends me over to the main cash registers so that I can purchase everything at one time. Excellent.

Walking out to the car, I realize that there two bottles of wine for 2700 rupees on my receipt. Yes, this is for 2 bottles of Gallo wine. Yes, that is about $54. Again, not happening.

Luckily I realized this before we left Spencers. I went back in and – very long story, short –Β  I was finally able to get my money back. After explaining what happened, I was told that all sales are final. Okay. That doesn’t work so great for me because I said no to this wine. It was a mistake, an honest mistake – but it was not my mistake. The wine guy loaded it up in my basket with the other wines after I said I did not want it. Finally, they (very reluctantly) agreed.

So, I am left wondering – if you are at a market where there are no cash registers and often no receipts, what do you do if you want to return/exchange something? Oh yea, and if you have a recommendation for a sweet, white Indian wine, I’ll take that too. πŸ˜‰

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 11:00 pm

    Any response from my “wine guy” ??

    Happy to just order a case for you and you can get it from me that way?

  2. Nancy permalink
    August 25, 2009 7:37 pm

    I agree with LOLA. Gallo?? Yucky.

  3. August 25, 2009 5:58 pm

    Next time, just make sure to double check what’s in your cart or whatever before you go to the checkout. I imagine you will have more than one misunderstanding like this in the future, and it wouldn’t hurt to double check before you give them your money. Since that seems to be the way things work there, you will probably be the one who has to bend. Lesson learned! =)

  4. Jasmeet permalink
    August 25, 2009 3:41 pm

    No w(h)ine expert here but Sula is good – Chenin Blanc – as somebody pointed out! And well, next time just simply go to Khan market, behind the market, there’s a huge building, on the ground floor, there are a lot of electrical and lightening shops, among them is a good liquor shop where they have a good array of wines, but always take a guy with you if you go!

    • August 25, 2009 9:45 pm

      Yeah – I have been to that liquor store – once when hubby’s boss was coming in town – my driver was nervous and insisted on going with me – which seemed so funny to me because he really has only done that for that store – but I quickly understood why! I was very glad he went. 😎

  5. August 25, 2009 3:39 pm

    What, they don’t have wine tastings @ Spencers?

    Since I’m a red wine drinking American gal, I have no advice beyond Gallo is disgusting no matter what country you’re in. Do not buy it ever πŸ˜‰

  6. August 25, 2009 1:56 pm

    Yeah, $54 is a steep price for some cheap wine.

  7. Dry Blogger permalink
    August 25, 2009 11:50 am

    The wine was probably to “DRY” for your taste anyway!

    I’m glad you got your money back!

  8. Tottsmom permalink
    August 25, 2009 11:11 am

    You handled it better then I think I would have done. Because it was not one bottle but two, I would have assumed they were trying to take advantage of me and would have been screaming mad from the get go. Kudos to you for getting your money back. Tell me if you find any good wines. I prefer reds, but have been known to drink a white or two. Happy wine hunting.

    • August 25, 2009 9:42 pm

      I might have felt more like that if it was a small shop. But this guy wasn’t making any money off my sale – he was just trying to follow the rules – but I wasn’t having it. 😎

  9. August 25, 2009 10:13 am

    Mostly any shop will, even the small ones, will give you some receipt, even a handwritten one is good enough. And they can remember your face, so if you take back stuff that you bought from them, it isn’t too much of a problem.

    The only Indian wine I like is Goan port wine. Try Vinicola, it’s verrrrrrry nice.

    • August 25, 2009 9:41 pm

      I think you are an optimist. πŸ˜‰ I will try the wine – thanks for the tip.

  10. August 25, 2009 3:06 am

    Unfortunately, I cannot offer you any advice for returning the goods… I find it very common that even after I decline some overpriced foreign brand, they still act like I am buying πŸ™‚ I have to repeat several times that I didn’t want the first thing and am buying this instead and then they act like I hurt their feelings… oh well πŸ™‚

    But I’ve been exploring Indian wines quite a lot πŸ™‚ Our new discovery are Indus wines from Nasik district in Maharashtra. Our favourites were Shiraz and Rose, but the rest are good quality wines as well.

    Good sweet white wines are Indus and Sula Chenin Blanc. Sula also has a really sweet white dessert wine Late Harvest Chenin Blanc.

    I also recommend to try Chateau d’Ori wines – I like their Merlot and Sauvignon Blanc a lot.

    • August 25, 2009 9:41 pm

      Yummy – thanks! And yes, that whole “hurting feelings” thing is very different.

  11. August 25, 2009 12:59 am

    for the wine sula/grovers they are good

  12. August 25, 2009 12:44 am

    well, you go back to return it, you request, they say – barabar hai, par sale ho gaya…us still say – no take it back…they still say nahi baba abhi kya karne ka, abhi sale hua…u still persit…they again say…arey baba friend ko gift kar do! By now ur loosing it and raising ur voice a bit…they still are not giving …you are loud now and if it was me…i would have some colorful words :)…so in the end of no and no from both sides, other people stare at you and the shopkeeper blames u of wasting his time!
    Anyway in the end, you may either walk out huffing, puffing, cursing with those 2 gallos or if you were able to bang the table real hard you might have got an offer to take some other stuff worth 2700 bucks….but why discount some good souls…maybe the guy is good and offers ur cash back (very bleak chance..dont bank on this one)
    well, all ur luck and power of ur lungs πŸ™‚

    • August 25, 2009 9:40 pm

      Hi Maria and welcome~ I feel very lucky to have gotten my money back – but it was not without a lot of convincing!

Trackbacks

  1. Why you don’t need a cook or a driver in America…….. « A Reason To Write

Leave a Reply

