Skip to content

If you give a mom an ipod…………….

August 23, 2009

There is a book called “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie.” It is about a mouse that gets very distracted along its way during the day. That is the story of my life. I. get. very. distracted. In fact, there is another book called “If You Give a Pancake.” I think we will all agree at the end of this post that this title more aptly applies.

Walk with me……..

I have been getting a few emails about the tone of my blog lately. Nothing bad or negative. Just some people are concerned. I guess I have been a little heavier in my writing lately. So I vowed this week to return to my smartarse ways.

One of the things I wanted to write about was my response to the new “no junk food” policy at the school. The policy in which you cannot buy potato chips but you can buy cookies and brownies with icing. Yes, I have a lot to say about that. Surprised? I still plan to write that because I am v.e.r.y. interested to see what you all have to say about it. But now I am distracted – see how this works?

I was distracted because before I started writing that post, I was looking through a few pictures to send some emails and I got a glimpse of a picture of me from the back. Yikes. Not what I have allowed myself to imagine pretend at all. This is what we call an exercise fail. and a reality fail. At least I can still multi-task.

So, I grab my ipod and decide to recommit myself to exercising a couple of times a week. Starting now. Right now. I am also revisiting my stance on potato chips. Yeah, not really – but I might have to walk more to start competing in triathalons. Off I go.

Well, it seems I have let the battery in my ipod run out. Yes, I was very committed to the exercising thing. Can you tell? Ipod fail.

No problemo – I grab my son’s ipod that is completely charged and I head out to walk.

As I am walking, I realize I don’t recognize many any of the songs. Coolnees fail.

Okay, I did recognize one. “SOS” by the Jonas Brothers. There is absolutely no need for you to point out to me that this song is like sooo last year – or quite possibly the year before. I know. Coolness fail. I get it. And it was not exactly inspiring – it is a love song – but I am no longer professing my love to Rick Springfield, so these songs dripping with Kool-aid and chanting “I will love you forever – or at least until tomorrow” stopped making me smile right after I gave away my favorite purple socks that were just like Donny Osmond’s.

I did decide, however, that I might as well listen to some of the songs on his ipod. Holy bad words batman. I had no idea that some of the songs on his ipod were so “advanced”. Parenting Fail.

Then I get to his favorite song. Another song I recognize. Maybe I am not as uncool as I once thought. Alas, I had no idea that his favorite song of a.l.l. t.i.m.e. has the eff word and the sh word bleeped out. And a couple others that are not. Yea, big fat parenting fail.

Well, at least I accomplished something. I walked.

Now for breakfast. Did I tell you that I found all the ingredients I need in India to make to teach Laxmi how to make a 7-layer mexican dip? Guess what is in my fridge? I cannot imagine why I also remain a lose weight fail. 😉

Here is hoping your day includes something really yummy to eat and a half an hour to walk it off. And if you see a pig with a pancake, please tell him I want my ipod back.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 8:24 pm

    Cameras add ten pounds, don’t you know that? My iPod contains rap songs that say such horrible things that the Mommy Police would have me locked up if they knew my kid occasionally hears them playing through the house speakers before I can run to switch the song. Bad, bad mommy!

  2. August 24, 2009 10:50 pm

    Oh you cannot possibly expect me to know the song title – sista please – how are you feeling? Better I hope

    • August 24, 2009 10:50 pm

      I have no idea what you are talking about – I always stay perfectly on track – hee hee

  3. August 24, 2009 10:26 pm

    hey loved this post! btw I came online to do some banking but i am reading blogs! if you give me a laptop…….

  4. Nancy permalink
    August 24, 2009 4:06 pm

    OK…fill us in. What’s the favorite song? We parents have to stick together!

  5. August 24, 2009 1:04 pm

    Yep – I never borrow my son’s ipod … N.E.V.E.R. Although since moving here, I see NO reason to borrow it. Too hot to do anything besides complain about how hot it is.

    • August 24, 2009 10:49 pm

      I went out this morning and it wasn’t so bad – the humidity makes you sweat more – it’s (not) loverly!

  6. August 24, 2009 10:07 am

    Some of the lyrics in the music on my Ipod would make Richard Pryor blush…Man, it must be a kick in the head raising kids in the post-profanity age
    I think I’ll stick to parenting vicariously through you…you’re so good at it.
    love the post!

    • August 24, 2009 10:48 pm

      Oh I don’t know about that – but at least you’ll get a few laughs every now and then! I make plenty of silly mistakes! And some of the songs would make the devil blush! 😎

  7. Sue permalink
    August 24, 2009 9:32 am

    Hilarious! What a great way to start my day. I grabbed my husband’s iPod this morning when my battery was dead so can avoid those parenting pitfalls a little bit longer. I saw a picture of me over the weekend from just two months ago (after I had lost some weight) and was shocked – how could the camera have not known I worked so hard!

    • August 24, 2009 10:47 pm

      As long as we can laugh at ourselves, it’s all good! Those cameras are idiots! They never get it right!

  8. Tottsmom permalink
    August 24, 2009 8:47 am

    rofl, Today I committed to loosing some of those extra pounds I’ve been carrying around, and then I read your post, but I find I am the ONLY one in my family that does NOT have an I pod. I guess I’ll go steel one from one of my daughters. Today is also the first day of school here. All three kiddos in school all day.

  9. caitlin permalink
    August 24, 2009 3:38 am

    Love this post!

Leave a Reply

