Skip to content

Seriously, just stop for a minute………

July 1, 2009

Those of you who follow this blog know I don’t normally cuss, but it irritates the S.H.I.T. out of me when people don’t stop for the National Anthem. Even if you aren’t American, you can stop what you are doing for a minute. So just stop already. Take off your hat, stop walking across the parking lot, put your cell phone away, stop brushing your hair, put your hand over your heart for God’s sake, put your drink down, and tell your children to shut the hell up. Remember, people die everyday defending our right to play that song – respectfully give them a minute of your time.

Oh yeah, Happy 4th of July! 🙂

16 Comments leave one →
  1. L Mukunthan permalink
    April 17, 2010 5:03 am

    Hey, I appreciate your patriotism.
    But, I have two points:
    1. What means respect to the national anthem?
    2. Respecting those who save our privilege in singing this few stanzas is worth it. But, from whom are they saving our privilege? Aren’t they saving it from just a few another humans?? Should this territory dispute which happen even between other species be a matter of pride? Who grows this enemity that causes this dispute and then thereby, this patriotism? Shouldn’t that be evaded from our thoughts?

    I am not trying to dishonour the sentiments or the disrespect the national anthem by any means. But, if a 2nd grader kid asks you, it’d be these questions, for which we as humans don’t have a valid answer. Isn’t it right?

    Regards,
    L. Mukunthan

    • April 17, 2010 10:32 pm

      You have really been reading – thanks for taking the time to read and reply. My frustration simply comes when people are so consumed with themselves that they cannot stop and pay tribute to how fortunate they are that people are willing to protect their freedoms with their lives. It is very interesting that you use the word privilege instead of freedom. That puts it in a different light – but I still believe that Americans are luckier than most of them will ever realize and that is a shame that they don’t have an appreciation for how precious those freedoms/privileges really are.

  2. July 3, 2009 1:19 pm

    I agree! It never used to be this way. Just one more sad sign of the times I guess ;(

  3. pamj permalink
    July 3, 2009 12:40 pm

    i feel the same way!!

  4. July 2, 2009 9:11 pm

    Lisa – thanks

    Loco – I know, I know – it’s very deep but there have to be some things in America that all Americans can bond over together! I hope you have a great 4th of July too – anywhere to celebrate with a good old fashioned BBQ?

  5. July 2, 2009 5:11 pm

    This is a deep issue, not for a comment field. btw-Happy 4th of July I forgot to say (-: Geez I miss real BBQ )-:

  6. lisa permalink
    July 2, 2009 12:47 pm

    well said, as always 🙂

  7. July 2, 2009 12:25 pm

    Deewane – just watching people in general

    MadDaddy – welcome – I agree

    Oma – it is amazing what we take for granted

    Halfpint – Adults are just a pain in the patooty sometimes – unbelievable! Welcome!

    Jennifer – That is great! I love it!

    Loco – you know I love you but your comment makes me so sad – I know you have grappled with how you fit into America and you felt more connected when Obama was elected – I was proud of America then too – but when those young men and women put on their uniforms and risk their lives, they do not ask which Americans they are defending – they don’t ask that their memory only be honored by people of the same color or educational background or social class – they just go in and fight so we can play that song whenever and wherever and as loud as we want – they fight, and have always fought, just as hard for you as they do for me!

    Baba – that is cool – and yes it only takes a minute – even if you don’t have any personal connection to it, you can shut the heck up so the rest of us can enjoy it.

    Tottsmom – I love it – and you are welcome on my soapbox anytime!

  8. Tottsmom permalink
    July 2, 2009 11:38 am

    Huhza!!! Hooray!! Hear Hear! I agree wholeheartedly! Although I must admit I even get miffed at poor flag etiquette. We have a 30 foot flag pole in our yard(the HOA did not realize how BIG 30 feet was when they approved it lol). We usually fly 24/7 a 4X6 flag and on Holidays fly the flag that drapped the casket of my veteran grandfather. I even make my kids stand up when the anthem plays on TV for ANY reason. So I’m right there beside you on this one.
    Happy Independance Day. Hug a solider/veteran if you can and say Thank you. Ok, now I’ll get off of ARTW’s soap box and let her have it back.

  9. July 2, 2009 11:33 am

    You tell em! I totally agree. My family has been in this country since it’s inception. I have relatives who fought along with George Washington. Doing the family history reveals fascinating information. My Father who fought in WWII instilled in us great respect for our nation and it’s fighting men. To stand and respect our flag only takes a few moments of our time to do. No one can be so busy that they can’t take the time.

  10. Jennifer permalink
    July 2, 2009 11:23 am

    I hear ya sista friend!

    It was heartwarming, however, when a woman walking her dog, stopped and paused when she heard the children’s choir practicing the National Anthem prior to a swim meet. She heard the tune and knew what to do! The dog even stood still.

  11. July 2, 2009 10:22 am

    Well…I’d do it now anyway. but before recent events, honestly, never even considered it…oh I stood up at ball games and what not just to avoid standing out or getting someone all bent out of shape, but the 4th of July was for BBQ and fireworks… My father was a veteran, fought in Korea and brought stripes and bright stars through the perilous fight with Kim Sr. and company, and came home in one piece and yet never inspired nor insisted on any Nationalistic pride in me…it took an Hawaiian with an Islamic name to do that…now, I can see by the dawn’s early light… Strange world ain’t it

  12. halfpint42592 permalink
    July 2, 2009 9:29 am

    BRAVO TO YOU!!!! This absolutely infuriates me to no end. We have commented on it so many times in the past few years. Both of my sons play sports and there is something to attend at least once a week that begins with the National Anthem.

    My father was a Marine and to this day works with the Marine Corps. He is in my eyes one of the most proud Americans I have ever known. We have been taught from day one that you do not move when the National Anthem is playing. As girls we were stand with our hands on our hearts and God Help You if you acted up at all. In turn I have passed this on to my children and am constantly surprised at the amount of people who are so disrespectful during The National Anthem.

    What surprises me the most is that it isn’t even the kids for the most part. It is the adults. Last year right before our homecoming parade a little girl was hit by a car in the street which cancelled the parade. We all made our way over to the stadium and were asked to have a moment of silence followed by the National Anthem. It was absolutely disgusting to see the people talking, laughing and not showing any respect whatsoever. I even said to two women who were next to me that were laughing so loud :” Do you mind showing a little respect and being quiet” This of course embarrassed them and I am glad. My children know, no matter what your friends are doing during that time, you better not move.

    As I said my father was a Marine, but I also come from a long line. My husband was in the Gulf War, my sister served and too many others to mention. It is sad to think that if the adults act like this, how can their children be expected to act any different?

  13. Oma permalink
    July 2, 2009 8:53 am

    I so agree with you…maybe we should ship these types to a war zone. I think you will find they will come out a different person and will show respect for the American Flag and what it stands for.

    A War Time Mom

  14. MadDaddy permalink
    July 2, 2009 8:43 am

    This also irritates the hell out of me. One should give the National Anthem with utmost respect, be it any country. IMHO.

  15. deewane permalink
    July 2, 2009 3:38 am

    You are absolutely right! (can you tell you gave me a bit of a fright :P, but OMG what brought that on?)

Leave a Reply

