Skip to content

Dear Mr. Hefty……

June 22, 2009

Dear Mr. Hefty (yes, as in the trash bag man),

I know times are lean and everyone is cutting back – but, it is not helpful that you are making your black trash bags thinner. So thin, in fact, that now you can apparently see through them. Yes, right through them. No x-ray vision required.

How do I know that you ask? Well, Mr. Hefty, I am trying to covertly clean out my house of all the j.u.n.k. that we my children have sequestered over the past 10 years. I did not think that I needed the dark of night to sneak the hostages out of their secret hiding places in my children’s rooms and out to the curb for the trash men warriors. But I was w.r.o.n.g. Dead w.r.o.n.g.

Mr. Hefty, I wonder if you are aware of what exactly it is that happens when a child realizes that things s/he has not played with for well over a year are being taken out to the trash. Those things become new again and oh so sought after. And yes, I am fully aware that it is my job as a parent is to put my foot down and my trash bag out. But it is easier with dark, thick black trash bags. Really, really it is.

Mr. Hefty, black is the new black. Dark black. Thick black. Black that you cannot see through. Bring back the thick, black trash bags.

Not exactly hugs and kisses,
One very tired mom

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole Brown permalink
    June 27, 2009 4:25 pm

    I can’t help but think of the movie Toy Story 2 when I read this blog. Those toys have been a part of children’s lives. They don’t want to go to the dump. “They are toys to be played with and loved by children.”

    Good luck next time getting rid of those unwanted (by you) items. I find that you have to have a strategic plan with your neighbor and use there trash can for things that need to go!

  2. June 23, 2009 8:31 pm

    Black is the new black! LMAO
    welcome back missed ya (-:

  3. Tottsmom permalink
    June 23, 2009 6:36 pm

    Yea! My honey just took the old car (Fiat) out of the garage. He is taking it to his hanger at the airport. Now, with a little luck, I’ll be able to PARK in the garage. Wow what a concept. Ok, so now I need to go get me some of those heavy duty trash bags you all are talking about. I be dreamin’ of a clean garage.

  4. June 23, 2009 3:18 pm

    Oh, do I ever relate! I’ve gone the way of the never-going-to-disintigrate construction bags, too. The only trouble is that when the packrats known as my husband and son see those bags, they go through them and pull out all the crap they haven’t used in years.

  5. Chris permalink
    June 23, 2009 12:21 pm

    We now use the heavy duty construction bags from Lowe’s or Home Depot. I know we are killing hte environment but I need my very thick black bags to get stuff out of the house. Just worked on one closet and took care of two bags. I think you need to switch to the construction bags with me. 🙂

  6. June 23, 2009 11:48 am

    Funny and so true. We like the black Mr Heafty!

  7. Oma permalink
    June 23, 2009 11:19 am

    That is a good one….Glad to see your back….

    Oma

  8. Girlsmom permalink
    June 23, 2009 11:04 am

    A lot of our children’s things get “lost in the move” especially those stuffed animals you thought they had forgotten about. Their minds are like little steel traps full of memories. But, I am with you on the dark trash bags–those have saved me a lot of trouble in the recent past.

  9. Nancy permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:19 am

    Good one!

  10. June 23, 2009 7:44 am

    I HATE thin trash bags. I always over-fill the trashcan, which always results in a mess when the bag gives out.

    I never learn.

  11. Swati permalink
    June 23, 2009 3:36 am

    I usually throw out the trash when my hubby is not home :), he has no idea as of yet that I have thrown some ( many) of his hideous things. Maybe things are different after having kids- considering their vacation and all they might be hanging around all the time 🙂

  12. June 23, 2009 12:25 am

    Oh you …

    I am laughing … but I’m laughing WITH you … as my prison term of hauling black trash bags is not too distant a memory … what was that, just two months ago as I cleaned out our house?

    My favorite was when I stayed up late to bag “treasured trash” and in a fit of exhaustion, placed them on the back deck … I resumed the job in the morning and watched in horror as all sorts of “MY TOYS!!!!!!!!!!!” broke through the crappy black trash bags right in front of the littles.

    Hang in there … (how many rooms have you gotten through)

  13. Tottsmom permalink
    June 22, 2009 6:19 pm

    lol, I find the white trash bags are thicker these days for some reason. I feel for you. Just did the same with my kids rooms. Now if I could just do it to my husbands garage……

Leave a Reply

