Skip to content

Sporadic at best…..

June 10, 2009

As you might have (hopefully) noticed, I am not posting quite every day right now. Tsk. Tsk. I know, I know.

We are filling our time with friends and family and soaking in being back home sweet home – with a few cheeseburgers and milkshakes and trips to Walmart thrown in. (Although, I have to say Taco Bell’s nachos were not as good as I remember them being. Bummer. Five Guys on the other hand – never disappoints. N.E.V.E.R.)

Anywrite, if you are tired of checking in and getting nada from your resident writer on vacation, you can sign up to receive an email when I write a new post. I have some posts brewing but please be patient. Remember I have 3 kids home from school and all of their friends are still in school. Yes, I know – brilliant planning. And, yet, somehow I remain shocked that NASA is not calling me for an interview. The wonders never cease.

I do hope to write more (often) soon – I especially want to finish my post on poverty in India – but I am not sure you will hear from me everyday. Don’t think for one second that I won’t miss you terribly and that I won’t cry if you don’t come back – I just might not realize it right away! 😉

In the meantime, if there is something you have just been dying to know – please feel free to ask away. (Almost) nothing is off limits.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 1:40 pm

    Settlers – we are home for the summer

  2. June 12, 2009 10:23 am

    I’ve been MIA, too, so it’s all good!

  3. Tottsmom permalink
    June 12, 2009 10:22 am

    Well, my life is too busy right not to even THINK about sitting down at the computer everyday sooooo, your forgiven, 🙂 I’ll catch you when I get a quite moment to myself and enjoy my cup of tea. (Actually today it was milk and a piece of my 5 year olds birthday cake, but who’s looking.)

  4. June 11, 2009 10:25 am

    No worries, just enjoy your visit with family and friends.

  5. boston123 permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:19 am

    Hi,
    Glad you’re enjoying the summer in the US.. Delhi temperatures are running 100-112 deg, routinely.
    The below link about Kerala may be helpful, as you write about poverty in India.. I thought it was thought provoking. You should plan a vacation in Kerala..to get a contrast with Northern India, and the diversity across the country.

    http://www.ashanet.org/library/articles/kerala.199803.html

    • Arun permalink
      June 11, 2009 12:36 pm

      Kerala is the most talked about success story in India. But, the northern mountain state of Himachal Pradesh is another relatively recent one that has seen much less pubilcity (I am *not* from Himachal, so this is not a shameless plug). A UNDP report provides detailed information, if you are interested. A noteworthy footnote is that unlike Kerala, Himachal does not benefit from huge remittances from the expatriates abroad. I have always been extremely skeptical of using the physical consumption (Western?) metrics to judge the success of a society, so the article on Kerala resonates with me.

  6. Settlers permalink
    June 11, 2009 8:43 am

    Hey, when are going back to India? 😉

  7. June 11, 2009 7:55 am

    Badass – that actually surprises me!

  8. June 11, 2009 7:30 am

    You know, NASA hasn’t called me, either.

    Hmm.

  9. June 11, 2009 6:15 am

    Swait – thanks

    Deewane – when it finally stops raining 😎

  10. deewane permalink
    June 11, 2009 5:41 am

    What I want to know is when will the friggin summer hit this side of the coast, it’s the middle of June and I am still having to cover up like a nun! Oh and yes enjoy your vacation, us post-hungry blog-hoppers will be back in full force whenever u r 🙂

  11. Swati permalink
    June 10, 2009 9:32 pm

    waiting for your post on poverty in India, should be interesting to read @ expats pov

Leave a Reply

