Skip to content

have you hugged your mailman today…………

June 3, 2009

I hope everyone has a moment like I had yesterday – I kind of stopped in my tracks and thought “life is good”. We all take things and people for granted – it’s just human nature – we get busy and forget. It happens. But every now and then, we should just stop and take a deep, cleansing breath and be grateful for something. And something small. Something that seems insignificant but something we would miss terribly if we didn’t have it.

Enter Bob. Yesterday, it was Bob that I was grateful for – our mailman. He rocks. Seriously. He rocks.

Even without a rock star mailman, I love getting the mail. LOVE IT! and MISS it in India. All of our mail goes to my husband’s office. About every 2 weeks we get a package of mail. But just the essential stuffย  – translation – bills. yippee. I don’t even get to walk to the mailbox everyday or look out the window and see if the flag is down.

Those of you who know me know that I have had a handmade stationery/invitation business called A Reason To Write. So I am all about the s.n.a.i.l. mail – and really cute mail – well that is justย  a little slice of note card heaven.

Short story, very long – yesterday I went out to the mail box and there was my mailman – Bob. He had a big smile and said, “I missed seeing you last week – everything okay?” Yes indeedy! He gave me a big hug and told me how nice it was to be able to see our family. And he had a couple of lovely pieces of mail that had absolutely nothing to do with how much money I owed to other people. Yes indeedy!

P.S. I never saw mail trucks in India – how do Indian people get their mail?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Shikha permalink
    June 9, 2009 7:22 am

    If I happen to hug my mail man, who I don’t see too often, he might just die of shock! Or he might start writing to me himself so that he can deliver them every day !! We Indians are quite different ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Tottsmom permalink
    June 6, 2009 5:13 pm

    Sands, I once knew a guy who did just that. I joke he is the only felon I know. They sent him to prison for NOT delivering JUNK mail.

  3. June 4, 2009 9:47 pm

    Junk mail is rare in India, would it be wonderful if mailman only brings what we need here in US as well!

  4. Girlsmom permalink
    June 4, 2009 10:12 am

    Bob is an awesome, friendly mailman. I felt like he welcomed us to the neighborhood, though as far as I know he isn’t actually a neighbor. He always smiles and knows your name (I guess from the mail). Just another special part of this little slice of suburbia.

  5. pamj permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:56 am

    r mail-man used to be my parents mail-man for 20 yr’s. now he’s been w us for the past 6 yr’s. he came to my parents open house when they moved to warrenton and last weekend he came over for a cook out.

  6. June 4, 2009 8:16 am

    ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  7. June 4, 2009 8:12 am

    While I like our mailman very much, I can’t imagine hugging him ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. June 4, 2009 7:46 am

    Swati – I am going to watch out for those mailboxes – I never mail anything

    Sands – is there junk mail in India?

    Rit – I have never seen a mailman on a bike – I hope I do when I get back

    Sharmishtha – the monsoons must provide quite the challenge

    Mama bear – oh to be sure, we have some of that too – our kitchen is small and quickly very crowded – but for the most part I know we are pretty lucky

    Sharmishtha – we are woken up by so many things in the middle of the night – dogs barking, fireworks, pigeons in the air conditioner, the electricity going off, blah blah blah

    poupee – thanks

    Naresh – welcome – interesting

  9. Naresh permalink
    June 4, 2009 2:05 am

    generally in India we don’t have special trucks for mail. mail is transfered in trains and also in public transport like buses they usually give the mail to the driver of the bus to drop at the corresponding location

  10. poupee97 permalink
    June 3, 2009 11:26 pm

    It’s nice reading your blog and getting your perspective of India. I agree with many of your observations of the differences of life here versus in the US (we spent several months in a suburb of Chicago, some years ago). I also agree with mama bear that your Delhi is quite different from the city I grew up in. Perhaps it’s just that you don’t focus on the negative aspects so much.

  11. Sharmishtha permalink
    June 3, 2009 11:02 pm

    Ha, ha, ha Mama Bear! Terrific observation! Besides the constantly ringing doorbells and the never-ending stream of visitors and the unpredictable electricity, there is also the cacophonic orchestra that starts at dawn – the b*oody birds! In Calcutta (don’t remember what happens in Delhi), the crows are up bright and early and they don’t sing in gentle melodic tunes – they shriek, they screech, they caw until they are certain that everyone is jolted out of their peaceful sleep at 4:30AM.

  12. mama bear permalink
    June 3, 2009 3:24 pm

    I really want to go to the india-delhi you live in.. The india-delhi I visit is very different– the middle class — indian middle class– is very different.. every few minutes the doorbell rings for some delivery or other. The kitchen- (a small closet filled to rim with stuff) where we cook for us and the thousands of relatives who come to visit- where fresh tea is being made every two minutes, cause the tea in the teapot is too cold already… where going to bathroom is an advanture– never know which creature is going to greet you.. where electricity is something that might be visiting you every few days…
    From that india to the one you write about seems like a life of paris hilton vs the rest of us normal folks…

  13. Sharmishtha permalink
    June 3, 2009 3:20 pm

    Yes, it’s a quintessential Indian symbol – the mailman in khaki wearing his khaki cap, riding a bicycle, with a satchel full of mail, riding around, tossing mail at doors, sometimes hitting, sometimes missing. But despite his bad attitude, it’s rare that he doesn’t show up – or so the myth goes – except in the worst monsoon weather. Despite all this romanticizing in film and fiction, I only saw a mailman in person when I moved to Delhi for college. Before that, I was an army brat whose mail also arrived at the office, to be picked up by dad and brought home. Hmmm…guess my childhood was one long expat life.

  14. Rit permalink
    June 3, 2009 11:53 am

    The mail trucks in India usually ferry mail in bulk between the post offices. The actual delivery is done by postmen on bicycles. The system suits India since it provides employment and also conserves natural resources.

  15. June 3, 2009 11:05 am

    mailman comes on a cycle in India and there is no norm on where you should have your mail box or rather there is no norm for having one. They just throw the mail in front of the door, lucky if you get hold of it before the wind!! We had a mail box, but our dear mailman never bothered to put mail in it, its wastes his time, he would rather throw it down at the door. I can’t tell you how special i feel having a mailbox here in US that mailman actually uses. getting mail is such a novelty for me, of course not the bills!

  16. Swati permalink
    June 3, 2009 10:47 am

    Our mail man used to ride a bicycle ๐Ÿ™‚ And did you notice the mail box in India in red and not blue…. when I initially came here, I was looking for a red mailbox to mail my letters, later found out that the box is painted blue ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

